Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon


Everything, EverythingEverything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Publication Date: September 1, 2015 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Pinoy Book Tours for the review opportunity!]

Goodreads Summary:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


My thoughts:

Everything, Everything was very easy to read. The illustrations and other graphics helped a lot, plus the chapters were very short.

I kept telling myself to drop my expectations, but the book always gives something to look forward to in the next chapter.

I guess Carla is my favorite character. She strengthened Maddy and together, they stood up for what they thought was right, even if they had to break the rules. Carla lit up the spark of Maddy’s hope–and it’s a major turning point in the story.

I love how relatable the story is. People can identify with different characters in the book, and just get lost in the world.

I also like the diversity I saw in this book–from the summary, to the actions, and the mixed-race characters, I couldn’t remember a dull moment.

One of the coolest parts of the book is Madeleine’s Dictionary, and two of the best items there are:

  • promise-the lie you want to keep.
  • oceanthe endless part of yourself you never knew but always suspected was there.

THE SUPER BIG PLOT TWIST BLEW MY MIND. But I couldn’t blame anyone. It had to happen.

I’m really glad I had the opportunity to read this book.

Everything, Everything is a story of risks, and the power of hope. It didn’t focus on the love story, because it’s a collection of stories about life, and love, about family, friendship, and more kinds of relationships that people have nowadays.

An infinity symbol for this gem of a novel.

Quote love! ❤

Maybe I’m holding out hope that one day, someday, things will change.

-Maddy

Hope. Words like maybe and someday are words of possibilities, and I love possibilities.

Life is hard, honey. Everyone finds a way.

-Carla

CARLA FTW. Life will find a way. We don’t know if it’ll be easy, but there will always be a way. Always.

Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It’s up to you.

-Carla

SEE? Carla is the best character, isn’t she?

But the difference between knowing it and seeing them in person is the difference between dreaming flying and in flight.

-Maddy

Beautiful metaphor.

Just because you can’t experience everything doesn’t mean you shouldn’t experience anything. Besides, doomed love is a part of life.

-Carla

Doomed love. Oh, Carla, you should write a book on how to survive life the way you want.

It’s weird to miss something you’ve never had–or don’t remember having, anyway.

-Maddy

Yes, actually. Do we need an explanation here?

Sometimes words are just not enough.

-Maddy

Like me, writing this review. Me trying to contain my feelings.

It’s not your fault. Life is a gift. Don’t forget to live it.

-Carla

I’m starting to cry here. If you don’t love (or at least like) Carla, we can’t be friends.

Advice for everyone! It’s not your fault.

He wasn’t choosing to die. His rose was his whole life. Without her, he wasn’t really alive.

-Maddy

The letter to her Mom. I love how`Maddy tried to explain her side. She’s basically telling her Mom that she doesn’t want to die, but she wants to live.

I thin you understand why I understood live. Not just existing, but living.

Sometimes you do things for the right reasons and sometimes for the

wrong ones and sometimes it’s impossible to tell the difference.

-Maddy

THIS. THIS QUOTE IS ONE OF THE MOST RELATABLE.

I was happy before I met him. But I’m alive now, and those are not the same thing.

-Maddy

I feel you, Maddy. I really ship you with Olly.

You’re not living if you’re not regretting.

-Carla

Straight from the heart, Carla. *slow clap*

Maybe growing up means disappointing the people we love.

-Olly

Yes. We make mistakes, but at the end of the day, what’s important is that we do our best to make things right.

We watch the way the water pulls back and turns over and bears against the sand, trying to wear the earth away. And even though it doesn’t succeed, it pulls back and pounds the shore again and again, as if there were no last time and there is no next time and this time is the time that counts.

-Maddy

Another beautiful metaphor. This is about living in the present, about moving forward.

Maybe there’s a version of your life for all the choices you make and all the choices you don’t.

-Maddy

I would actually like to see what could have happened if I made different choices in life. Where would I be now? I’m curious but I chose not to regret anything (or at least try not to regret) because this thought deserves a discussion group.

Favorite quote:

Love is worth everything. Everything.

-Life is Short™  (Spoiler Reviews by Madeline)

Because “the greatest risk is not taking one.”

‘Nuff said.


Final Rating: ∞

To live is to take risks. To love is to take risks. To live is to love.

Signature II

7 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. I loved this book! It’s an easy unique and it’s story is not like others. I also loved that it didn’t dwell too much on the romance. And I also ship Ollie and Maddy too hard! I love how you always articulate almost my feelings about a book. Thank you!

    Like

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.