Away We Go by Emil Ostrovski


Away We GoAway We Go by Emil Ostrovski

Publication Date: April 5, 2016 by Greenwillow Books

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Goodreads Summary:

“Funny, heart-wrenching, and wickedly smart, Away We Go is everything I love best about Emil Ostrovski’s writing. This is a great novel!”—Andrew Smith, Printz Honor–winning author of Grasshopper Jungle

With an innovative format that includes interstitial documents, such as flyers, postcards, and handwritten notes, Away We Go is an often funny, honest look at the struggles of first love and tragic heartbreak that will resonate with fans of the critically acclaimed Grasshopper Jungle, by Andrew Smith, and Noggin, by John Corey Whaley.

Westing is not your typical school. For starters, you have to have one very important quality in order to be admitted—you have to be dying. Every student at Westing has been diagnosed with PPV, or the Peter Pan Virus, and no one is expected to live to graduation. What do you do when you go to a high school where no one has a future or any clue how to find meaning in their remaining days?

From the author of the acclaimed The Paradox of Vertical Flight, an Indie Next Pick.


My friend Eriele of This is Not Your Book Blog was freaking out right after she finished reading Away We Go. Her endless messages on Twitter and Facebook convinced me to read this book right away. She badly needed someone to talk to about this book, and I understood what she meant when I finished reading it, too. Away We Go left me speechless.

[If you have read the book and need a support group, go to awayweread.tumblr.com – you are not alone…]

My thoughts:

Away We Go reminded me of the movie Never Let Me Go. Maybe it’s because both of them feature institutions that take away individuals somewhere unknown to the rest of the group.

Away We Go also reminded me of the book Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. Both stories were not plain narration. There were flyers, and blog posts that made my reading experience better.

It started as a bit confusing, because I couldn’t grasp what was happening yet. But as I read, my heart tightened for the kids. When realization hit, it hit hard.

Zach was the most complicated character that I’ve ever met. I didn’t understand him. I couldn’t understand him. But somehow, in the end, his actions felt right. That’s weird, I know. But that’s just the way it is.

I enjoyed reading about the Away We Stuff. There’s AwayWeRead, AwayWeBlog, AwayWeMusic, and more. It gave this book a trademark, a brand of originality.

Peter Pan and Skittles will never be the same.

Away We Go is many things. It’s a story about friendship, a story about love. A story about holding on, a story about giving up. Away We Go didn’t make me cry. But it made me believe in hope more than ever. And that’s why it stuck to me.

Away I wonder about this book. Thanks, BFF Emil*.

*Ate Mermaid and I refer to Emil Ostrovski as BFF Emil because he likes seeing us suffer from what he wrote. Both Ate Mermaid and I plan to read BFF Emil’s other book, The Paradox of Vertical Flight.

This post was intentionally scheduled to be published at 2:33 a.m. – in honor of the Westing kids.

I don’t think what I’ve said so far represented the entirety of my thoughts about this book. But really, when you read it, you’ll realize why it was so difficult to find the words that will capture how I felt about this book.

But, if you like Troye Sivan, some of his songs (like Talk Me Down) can give you a healthy dose of the feels. Ate Mermaid was the one who made me watch the videos. She’s brilliant for finding the videos that could pass as movie trailers of some sort for Away We Go.

Can I have some fireworks?


Final Rating: 5/5

Away you’ll wonder about this book.

Signature II

5 thoughts on “Away We Go by Emil Ostrovski

What do you think?

