Flawed by Cecelia Ahern


FlawedFlawed by Cecelia Ahern

Publication Date: April 5, 2016 by Feiwel and Friends

Genre: Young Adult Sci-Fi

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation in which she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found FLAWED.

In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society in which obedience is paramount and rebellion is punished. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.


My thoughts:

When I received an email from NetGalley with a chance to be approved for an e-ARC of Flawed, I checked it out right away because it’s by Cecelia Ahern.

What made me want to read the book more is the description saying it’s “The Scarlet Letter meets Divergent” – I hit the request button at once and I got approved.

Flawed is about a head-on dystopian society. The Flawed are similar to the factionless, and the thing I love the most about this book is its shared theme with Divergent: a choice to defy the rules.

Celestine (beautiful name, btw) is obsessed with being perfect. But she eventually discovers that being true is more important.

I hope to see more of Carrick and Celestine in the next book, Perfect. Carrick is a potential book boyfriend, and I felt like even if I haven’t seen much of him in this book, what I’ve read is enough to consider him worthy of my fangirl feels.

Pia Wang is also a character I loved so much. One of my favorite surprises (yes, there are many) in this book has something to do with her.

The character I loved the most is Granddad. He’s the one who made Celestine realize everything. He’s her guiding light. And he’s pretty cool. 🙂

I’m not so familiar with The Scarlet Letter but what I know is that Easy A (starring Emma Stone) is like a modern retelling of it. I googled The Scarlet Letter and the letter stood out – A for adulteress, just like the F branding in Flawed.

This means that yes, I agree with Jean Feiwel in saying that Flawed is The Scarlet Letter meets Divergent. Brilliant description – pretty catchy, too. 🙂 (See this article to know more about what Jean thinks about Cecelia’s YA debut!)

I would like to say something more about the branding in this book. Reading those scenes almost sent chills to my spine because it’s horrible (the branding itself, not the way the scene was written) – imagine having a brand on the tongue! It must hurt so much to have one brand – what about five? Celestine is really brave for facing not only the physical pain brought by the branding but also the discrimination the brands carry with them.

I would also like to share that Flawed reminded me of some things in The Hunger Games. First thing: a dystopian society (also with Divergent), two, social classes (The Capitol and The Districts are like the Perfect and the Flawed), three, a rebellion lead by a girl symbolizing the cause of the fight (Katniss as the Mockingjay, Celestine as the poster girl), and four, some personalities – Pia Wang is like Effie Trinket, Enya Sleepwell and Judge Sanchez are like Alma Coin, and Granddad is as cool as Haymitch Abernathy.

The next part of my review talks about how this book affected me. These are more personal thoughts.

Do what you feel in your heart to be right, for you’ll be criticized anyway.

I read this quote somewhere and it just stuck to my memory because this is something I’ll live by for the rest of my life.

I feel a strong connection to the core of this book. By core, I mean the point of the book – it’s okay not to be perfect. It’s okay not to meet the expectations of society from you, it’s okay to live your life the way you want.

Okay, plot-wise, this book may have some issues, like some reviews on Goodreads say. But I don’t care. This book reflects my thoughts on going against the norms.

If I were in the world depicted in this book, I’d probably have as many brands as Celestine. Because I hate rules. I hate being dictated.

As long as I’m not doing anything wrong and I’m happy, I’ll do what I want.

This book is basically the fire within me. This is my life – I know what’s right and what’s wrong. My choices have consequences and they’re not yours to face.

I will make mistakes but I will learn from them. I want to be free because I’m running out of time.

We all are.

Flawed is a book Tris Prior would read. Flawed is for the ones who can’t be controlled.


Initial Rating: 4.5/5

Bonuses: 0.1875

Demerits: None


Final Rating: 4.69/5

To be human is to be flawed.

Signature II

2 thoughts on “Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

What do you think?

