[Blog Tour] Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling


Why Not MeWhy Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

Publication Date: September 15, 2015 by Crown Archetype

Genre: Non-Fiction

ISBN: 9781101905579

Buy your copies from: National Book Store and Fully Booked

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

From the author of the beloved New York Times bestselling book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? and the creator and star of The Mindy Project comes a collection of essays that are as hilarious and insightful as they are deeply personal.

In Why Not Me?, Kaling shares her ongoing journey to find contentment and excitement in her adult life, whether it’s falling in love at work, seeking new friendships in lonely places, attempting to be the first person in history to lose weight without any behavior modification whatsoever, or most important, believing that you have a place in Hollywood when you’re constantly reminded that no one looks like you.

In “How to Look Spectacular: A Starlet’s Confessions,” Kaling gives her tongue-in-cheek secrets for surefire on-camera beauty, (“Your natural hair color may be appropriate for your skin tone, but this isn’t the land of appropriate–this is Hollywood, baby. Out here, a dark-skinned woman’s traditional hair color is honey blonde.”) “Player” tells the story of Kaling being seduced and dumped by a female friend in L.A. (“I had been replaced by a younger model. And now they had matching bangs.”) In “Unlikely Leading Lady,” she muses on America’s fixation with the weight of actresses, (“Most women we see onscreen are either so thin that they’re walking clavicles or so huge that their only scenes involve them breaking furniture.”) And in “Soup Snakes,” Kaling spills some secrets on her relationship with her ex-boyfriend and close friend, B.J. Novak (“I will freely admit: my relationship with B.J. Novak is weird as hell.”)

Mindy turns the anxieties, the glamour, and the celebrations of her second coming-of-age into a laugh-out-loud funny collection of essays that anyone who’s ever been at a turning point in their life or career can relate to. And those who’ve never been at a turning point can skip to the parts where she talks about meeting Bradley Cooper.


My thoughts:

This is my first time to review a non-fiction book, and it’s a new experience I certainly want to try again.

Why Not Me? gave me the chance to take a break from the usual stuff that I read–young adult fiction and college readings. It’s something very odd yet exciting, especially because I feel very honored to be a part of the global blog tour for the book.

I’m 17 years old (at the moment–it’s less than a month before I turn 18!) and I have to say that there are some things in the book that I couldn’t relate to (yet) because of my young age. But, there were also things that really spoke to me–the part where Mindy talked about changing people’s lives is one of the best parts of the book. ❤

I think what makes this book good is that it (somehow) prepared me for what awaits in adulthood. Since I’m turning 18 next month, a lot of doors will open for me, and I know I’ll have to be more mature. I learned some tips and I marked the paragraphs where I found useful advice. But what made me love this book the most is Mindy’s personal touch. This book is categorized by Goodreads as a memoir, and I love how open Mindy became with her life. There were a lot of photos that allowed me to see what’s going on, and they weren’t always formal or scripted–a lot of stolen photos were there. 🙂

My favorite part of the book is Soup Snakes, where Mindy talked about her relationship with B.J. Novak and how they are soup snakes instead of soul mates.

Soul mates is what you aim for, but soup snakes is what you get sometimes.

After reading this quote, I just said, “Whoa.”

Why Not Me? is an empowering book that inspired me to love myself more and  just go for it. All the words I marked reminded me of the things I already knew within me–I just needed a little push, and I got it from Mindy. ❤


Quote love! ❤

People love to say: “She just walked into the party, charming people with her effortless beauty.” I don’t understand that at all. What’s so wrong with effort, anyway? It means you care. What about the girl who “walked into the party, her determination to please apparent on her eager face”? Sure she might seem a little crazy, and yes, maybe everything she says sounds like conversation starters she found on a website, but at least she’s trying. Let’s give her a shot!

This really speaks to me because I’m the kind of person who would write a 13-page letter, or who would shoot videos every month for a friend’s birthday. I’m the kind of person who would do everything in my power for the people I love. Effort is something I’ll never take for granted, and I love how Mindy and I have the similar idea about it. 🙂

I’m a role model now. It makes the stuff I can’t do anymore completely worth it. It’s actually the way that my (minor) fame has changed me the most. I want to be a better person because I don’t want to disappoint those girls.

I feel like in this part, Mindy is dedicating herself into something bigger than she originally planned for herself. And that’s exactly why I look up to her now.

I think that’s the lesson of this story: you never know what is going to happen.

I’ll just leave this here because I believe all of us know this. Deep inside.

Throwing a tantrum feels good because you think you are ruining everyone’s good time when you feel  your very worst. But the truth is, you’re not ruining their good time, you’re just giving them another good story.

Filipinos might translate this to: “Asar, talo.”

I’ll keep this in mind. This is for Anger-type (Inside Out reference, people!) personalities here?

SEGUE: MINDY IS THE VOICE BEHIND DISGUST IN INSIDE OUT! ❤

People don’t say “Give me your honest opinion” because they want an honest opinion. They say it because it’s rude to say “Please tell me I’m amazing.”

#WhenTruthStrikes

It’s funny when you decide you don’t like someone. I’m the kind of person who, if my feelings are unrequited, can completely detach from someone emotionally if I simply put my mind to it.

I wish I could do that, too. #HugotFeels

I will leave you with one last piece of advice, which is: If you’ve got it, flaunt it. And if you don’t got it? Flaunt it. ’Cause what are we even doing here if we’re not flaunting it?

YES! GO MINDY!

I kinda remembered Julie Murphy’s Dumplin’ because of this quote. 🙂

Because confidence is like respect; you have to earn it.

Hands down.

Favorite quotes: (Yes, for the first time, I decided to feature two favorite quotes!)

But it’s not that I think I’m so great. I just don’t hate myself. I do idiotic things all the time and I say crazy stuff I regret, but I don’t let everything traumatize me. And the scary thing I have noticed is that some people really feel uncomfortable around women who don’t hate themselves. So that’s why you need to be a little bit brave.

THIS IS THE MOST EMPOWERING PART. ❤

Sometimes a story just needs an ending.

Not related to empowering stuff, but I just had to mark this because-

-guys. It’s not like you don’t know me. 😉

Blog Tour Schedule

Marjolein Reads: 10/19

Defiantly Deviant: 10/20

Jasmine Pearl Reads: 10/21

Home of a Book Lover: 10/22

Oops! I Read A Book Again: 10/23

The Bookaholic Blurbs: 10/24

The Soul Sisters: 10/25

When Books Defy Gravity: 10/26

Bibliophile Soprano: 10/27

Serendipity: 10/28


Final Rating: 4/5

When in doubt, be yourself.

Signature II

One thought on “[Blog Tour] Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

What do you think?

