Swoon Saturday (6): Scratch That by Tiana Smith


Scratch That by Tiana Smith

Expected Publication Date: January 8, 2019 by Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Goodreads Summary:

Mia’s best friend is Cupid. No, really. A teenage Cupid who went out of town and foolishly left behind her charmed journal and pen—the two items Mia needs in order to make the football hottie, Vince Demetrius, notice her.

According to plan, Vince falls for her, but Mia doesn’t count on Logan, the surprisingly suave and persistent school newspaper photographer who’s showing interest in her. But that’s not part of Mia’s plan. Mia’s got a perfect solution—direct Logan’s feelings towards her friend Elena.

Except that Elena likes Vince.

Mia has two weeks before her best friend comes back – fourteen short days to put all the right couples back together. Can she fix the mess she made or will she have to kiss her perfect match goodbye forever?

Note: This is a review of the manuscript posted on the Swoon Reads site.

Continue reading

Lucky in Love by Kasie West


Lucky in Love by Kasie West

Publication Date: July 25, 2017 by Scholastic

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

In this new contemporary from YA star Kasie West, a girl who wins the lottery learns that money can cause more problems than it solves, especially when love comes into the picture.

Maddie doesn’t believe in luck. She’s all about hard work and planning ahead. But one night, on a whim, she buys a lottery ticket. And then, to her astonishment —

She wins!

In a flash, Maddie’s life is unrecognizable. No more stressing about college scholarships. Suddenly, she’s talking about renting a yacht. And being in the spotlight at school is fun… until rumors start flying, and random people ask her for loans. Now, Maddie isn’t sure who she can trust.

Except for Seth Nguyen, her funny, charming coworker at the local zoo. Seth doesn’t seem aware of Maddie’s big news. And, for some reason, she doesn’t want to tell him. But what will happen if he learns her secret?

With tons of humor and heart, Kasie West delivers a million-dollar tale of winning, losing, and falling in love.

Continue reading

Swoon Saturday (4): Traveler by L.E. DeLano


Traveler by L.E. DeLano

Publication Date: February 7, 2017 by Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Jessa has spent her life dreaming of other worlds and writing down stories more interesting than her own, until the day her favorite character, Finn, suddenly shows up and invites her out for coffee. After the requisite nervous breakdown, Jessa learns that she and Finn are Travelers, born with the ability to slide through reflections and dreams into alternate realities. But it’s not all steampunk pirates and fantasy lifestyles—Jessa is dying over and over again, in every reality, and Finn is determined that this time, he’s going to stop it…This Jessa is going to live.

Continue reading

[Blog Tour] What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum


What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Publication Date: July 11, 2017 by Delacorte Press

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Penguin Random House International for letting me host the blog tour!]

Goodreads Summary:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her.

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

Continue reading

What to Say Next PH Blog Tour


First of all, I would like to thank Penguin Random House International for giving me the opportunity to host the PH blog tour for What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum. ❤

I absolutely loved Julie’s debut YA Tell Me Three Things so I was so excited for Julie’s next book!

When I shared the link for the blog tour sign-up, I was surprised to see that a lot of bookish friends from Twitter retweeted the link and gave it a signal boost. A total of 14 bloggers signed up, and below is the tour schedule:

July 11
Fay @ Bibliophile Soprano

July 12
Bianca @ Stay Bookish
Joel @ Descendants of Poseidon Reads
Shealea @ That Bookshelf Bitch
Jennilyn @ Rurouni Jenni Reads

July 13
Shaine @ Wanderer in Neverland
Nicka @ Read by Nicka
Imogene @ Amidst the Pages

July 14
Leslie @ bibliophilekid
Camelle @ Home of a Book Lover
Elena @ The Queen Reads

July 15
Jeddidiah @ When Books Defy Gravity
Areli @ Books and Photographs
Jessie @ Supercalireader
Athena @ The Book Junkie’s Blog

Links to the blog posts will be updated, so check back on this page for more book reviews!

Thank you so much for supporting this blog tour and for spreading the love for What to Say Next!

Join the giveaway below for a chance to win a finished copy of the book! ❤

Giveaway! ❤

#famous by Jilly Gagnon


#famous by Jilly Gagnon

Publication Date: February 14, 2017 by Katherine Tegen Books

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

In this modern-day love story, Girl likes Boy, Girl takes photo of Boy and posts it online, Boy becomes accidentally insta-famous. And what starts out as an innocent joke spirals into a whirlwind adventure that could change both their lives—and their hearts—forever. But are fame and love worth the price?

Told in alternating points of view, #famous captures the out-of-control thrill ride of falling for someone in front of everyone.

Continue reading

Swoon Saturday (3): Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde


Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Publication Date: March 14, 2017 by Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

Continue reading

[Blog Tour] Summer Feels: A #romanceclass Anthology


Summer Feels: A #romanceclass Anthology

Publication Date: April 30, 2017

Genre: Romance

AmazonPaperback (PH only)

Goodreads Summary:

Summer loving happens so fast, as you’ll find with Summer Feels, an anthology of 23 stories of love under the summer sun by #romanceclass authors. Savor the candied thrill of firsts—first loves, first kisses, first solo vacations—and the bittersweet triumph of second chances. Tour the Philippines as the stories take you to mountain retreats and island paradises. Let the magic of the hot sun, clear blue skies, and lots of love take you on a roller coaster ride of feels. With stories ranging from sweet to sexy, there’s sure to be something for any fan of romance.

Featuring stories by:
Elea Andrea Almazora • Erleen Alvarez • Ella Banta • Rachelle Belaro • H. Bentham • Halina Cabrera • Charlie Dio • Mina V. Esguerra • Elizabeth Galit • Georgette S. Gonzales • Ami Granada • Irene Jurado • Catherine Lo • Arlene Manocot • Bianca Mori • Eris Peñaluna • Farrah F. Polestico • Kit Salazar • Miel Salva • Fay Sebastian • Kate Sebastian • Yeyet Soriano • Marian Tee

Continue reading

[Blog Tour] The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli


The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Publication Date: April 11, 2017 by Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher and to Jasmine of Jasmine Pearl Reads for the review copy of the book!]

Goodreads Summary:

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?

Continue reading