Everyone We’ve Been by Sarah Everett


everyone-weve-beenEveryone We’ve Been by Sarah Everett

Publication Date: October 4, 2016 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Addison Sullivan has been in an accident. In its aftermath, she has memory lapses and starts talking to a boy that no one else can see. It gets so bad that she’s worried she’s going crazy.

Addie takes drastic measures to fill in the blanks and visits a shadowy medical facility that promises to “help with your memory.” But at the clinic, Addie unwittingly discovers it is not her first visit. And when she presses, she finds out that she had certain memories erased. She had a boy erased.

But why? Who was that boy, and what happened that was too devastating to live with? And even if she gets the answers she’s looking for, will she ever be able to feel like a whole person again?

Continue reading

The Secret of a Heart Note by Stacey Lee


the-secret-of-a-heart-noteThe Secret of a Heart Note by Stacey Lee

Publication Date: December 27, 2016 by Katherine Tegen Books

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

An evocative novel about a teen aroma expert who uses her extrasensitive sense of smell to mix perfumes that help others fall in love while protecting her own heart at all costs

Sometimes love is right under your nose. As one of only two aromateurs left on the planet, sixteen-year-old Mimosa knows what her future holds: a lifetime of weeding, mixing love elixirs, and matchmaking—all while remaining incurably alone. For Mim, the rules are clear: falling in love would render her nose useless, taking away her one great talent. Still, Mimosa doesn’t want to spend her life elbow-deep in soil and begonias. She dreams of a normal high school experience with friends, sports practices, debate club, and even a boyfriend. But when she accidentally gives an elixir to the wrong woman and has to rely on the lovesick woman’s son, the school soccer star, to help fix the situation, Mim quickly begins to realize that falling in love isn’t always a choice you can make.

At once hopeful, funny, and romantic, Stacey Lee’s The Secret of a Heart Note is a richly evocative coming-of-age story that gives a fresh perspective on falling in love and finding one’s place in the world.

Continue reading

Just for the Record by Six de los Reyes


just-for-the-recordJust for the Record by Six de los Reyes

Publication Date: April 3, 2016

Goodreads Summary:

Just for the record, the heat can get to even the most calculated of minds.

Let it be stated that Rhys loves Ryan forever and ever. But certain needs are not being met, leaving her frustrated and asking for too much than the conservative and almost-rock star, Ryan, is willing to give. Uncooperative (or cooperative, depending on your point of view) weather provides her an opportunity to ask not what she can do for her friends, but what a friend can do for her.

Isaiah likes to say that the best thing about Rhys is that he can stand in her breathing space and feel nothing. Something of a breather when dancing with Lia short circuits his entire operating system. But all his beliefs are challenged when Rhys chances upon him in a steamy practice room in the middle of a heat wave.

Note: This book review is (mostly) written in Filipino.

Continue reading

My Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill


my-unscripted-lifeMy Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill

Publication Date: October 11, 2016 by Delacorte Press

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Sometimes love stories go off script.

Another sultry Georgia summer is about to get a lot hotter. Dee Wilkie is still licking her wounds after getting rejected by the precollege fine arts program of her dreams. But if she’d gone away, she wouldn’t have been around to say yes to an unbelievable opportunity: working on the set of a movie filming in her small Southern town that just happens to be starring Milo Ritter, the famous pop star Dee (along with the rest of the world) has had a crush since eighth grade.

It’s not like Dee will be sharing any screen time with Milo—she’s just a lowly PA. And Milo is so disappointingly rude that Dee is eager to stay far away from him. Except after a few chance meetings, she begins to wonder if just maybe there’s a reason for his offensive attitude, and if there’s more to Milo than his good looks and above-it-all Hollywood pedigree. Can a relationship with a guy like Milo ever work out for a girl like Dee? Never say never…

Continue reading

The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby


the-stranger-gameThe Stranger Game by Cylin Busby

Publication Date: October 25, 2016 by Balzer + Bray

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance.

When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties.

Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found.

But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden and athletic; timid and unsure, instead of brash and competitive; and strangest of all, sweet and kind, when she had once been mean and abusive. Sarah’s retrograde amnesia has caused her to forget almost everything about her life, from small things like the plots of her favorite books and her tennis game to the more critical—where she’s been the last four years and what happened at the park on the fateful day she vanished. Despite the happy ending, the dark details of that day continue to haunt Nico, and it becomes clear that more than one person knows the true story of what happened to Sarah…

Continue reading

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton


Rebel of the SandsRebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Publication Date: March 8, 2016 by Viking Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from.

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him…or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.

Continue reading

November Hiatus


prh-bdam-giveaway

It’s year two of my November Hiatus and I’m leaving you with a giveaway!

Penguin Random House sent me a box of books for my blog event last July but the giveaway was postponed, so here you go!

One winner takes all! (an ARC of Gemina, a finished copy of Julia Vanishes, an ARC of History is All You Left Me, and an ARC of The Inside of Out)

JOIN MY #NovemberHiatusGA! ❤

Thank you so much for sending these books, Penguin Random House! 🙂

I’ll be back in December to catch up with all the books and all the reviews! ❤

Signature II

Bittersweet Café Basa by Addie Lynn Co


bittersweet-cafe-basaBittersweet Café Basa by Addie Lynn Co

Publication Date: October 22, 2016

Genre: Romance

Goodreads Summary:

In the relaxing ambience of Bittersweet Café Basa, one will encounter different stories of love with a hint of bitterness that lingers after the sweetness has gone. Every corner of the café seems to be full of whirlwinds of love stories at every corner of it. Nine delectable sweetness of each variety on the café’s menu also grants the readers a taste of heart break.

Chocolate Series: One story is about a girl secretly in love with her guy best friend hoping that he will someday see her in a different light.

Raspberry Milk Tea: Even when love is there, will fear and self-preservation spoil the perfect chemistry between a guy and a girl and ruin their road to a happy ending?

Caramel Macchiato: Another story is about two people who are secretly in love with each other but are trapped in a love triangle. They are tangled in a web of lies weaved and twisted by the wicked intentions of someone very close to their hearts.

Cherry Mocha Crunch: Traumatized by the many things she has lost, will she forever be deprived of the things she cherishes the most? Will she hurt the rest of her life, especially when the thief is her own jealous cousin?

Cappuccino: A friendship, as strong as a brotherly bond and intertwined by music and lyrics, will only be broken and buried into nothingness because one of them is willing to give the other up just for a woman they both love.

Mango Melon Tango: Can a woman who just happens to sit in the café, just being a good observer of all these things, be safe from the curse Bittersweet Café Basa has to offer? Or will she be as mysterious as the café and just happen to have a bittersweet story of her own?

Will they be able to conquer their fears and predicaments? Or will they only end up with a realization that it was never really meant to be to begin with?

Some people consider the café as some sort of sweet refuge; however, it is nothing but bittersweet. Can one really call it “refuge” when everyone else’s endings are nothing but bittersweet?

Continue reading