Swoon Saturday (6): Scratch That by Tiana Smith


Scratch That by Tiana Smith

Expected Publication Date: January 8, 2019 by Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Goodreads Summary:

Mia’s best friend is Cupid. No, really. A teenage Cupid who went out of town and foolishly left behind her charmed journal and pen—the two items Mia needs in order to make the football hottie, Vince Demetrius, notice her.

According to plan, Vince falls for her, but Mia doesn’t count on Logan, the surprisingly suave and persistent school newspaper photographer who’s showing interest in her. But that’s not part of Mia’s plan. Mia’s got a perfect solution—direct Logan’s feelings towards her friend Elena.

Except that Elena likes Vince.

Mia has two weeks before her best friend comes back – fourteen short days to put all the right couples back together. Can she fix the mess she made or will she have to kiss her perfect match goodbye forever?

Note: This is a review of the manuscript posted on the Swoon Reads site.


My thoughts:

I JUST LOVE THIS SO MUCH. ❤

I’m grateful to have the chance to read Scratch That at this point. I mean, I read a pre-ARC version! I feel so honored especially because this story is without any doubt swoonworthy.

First, Logan. I could type his name over and over again just because I fell in love with him right from the start. I was #TeamLogan all the way. I still feel giddy even when I was typing this.

Second, Robyn and Cupid Incorporated. Everything about the Cupid business made sense – at least in the story. AND THAT PLOT TWIST! I never saw it coming.

Third, Vince breaking the “athlete stereotype” – it was nice to have a glimpse of who Vince really is. I’d actually love to read a novel about him and Elena.

Fourth, the humor in this story is just the best. I found myself smiling a lot. Scratch That has the perfect dose of happy. 🙂

Fifth, Mia and her reflections. I love watching her character grow mature and responsible.

I love this story so much I technically read it in one sitting. I kept wanting to know what happens next.

P.S. DID I MENTION I LOVE LOGAN? ❤ ❤ ❤


Since the book is still in the editing stage, I presented some points for improvement when I posted this review as a comment on Tiana’s manuscript. But aside from those, I think this book is pretty much ready to be on the shelves of my favorite bookstores.

If Scratch That is still available to read on the Swoon Reads site by the time this review is posted, read it now! I can’t imagine waiting for 2019 because I cherish this book with my heart. I can’t wait to hug a copy. This would be a perfect read for Valentine’s Day. ❤


Final Rating: 5/5

What do you think?

