Swoon Saturday (4): Traveler by L.E. DeLano


Traveler by L.E. DeLano

Publication Date: February 7, 2017 by Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Jessa has spent her life dreaming of other worlds and writing down stories more interesting than her own, until the day her favorite character, Finn, suddenly shows up and invites her out for coffee. After the requisite nervous breakdown, Jessa learns that she and Finn are Travelers, born with the ability to slide through reflections and dreams into alternate realities. But it’s not all steampunk pirates and fantasy lifestyles—Jessa is dying over and over again, in every reality, and Finn is determined that this time, he’s going to stop it…This Jessa is going to live.


My thoughts:

I am in love with this book.

It’s a beautiful kind of love – the one you never saw coming. Maybe you underestimated the potential of the book because you generally wanted to lower your expectations to avoid disappointments, or maybe the book didn’t want to reveal its magic right away.

But yes, I am in love with this book.

Jessa and Finn are Travelers – having access to alternate realities as long as a reflective surface is around. At first the concept is confusing, but it gets clarified as Jessa understands it for herself.

Traveler has an premise similar to one of my old (unpublished) novels, and it was good to read another take on the idea of multiple universes. I love the suspense at the early chapters, revealing twists that got me excited and want for more.

The book might get dragging in the middle, especially because there is a need to build the world (more like, worlds) in the book. But fear not, my dear bookish friends. Try to see it as a preparation for the whirlwind of upcoming events such as being thrown into a crazy world, discovering who actually wanted to get you killed, and losing someone but not really.

You might get overwhelmed like Jessa did. Like I did. But that’s okay, because you have Finn to guide you. ❤

AHHHH, FINN. I LOVE HIM SO MUCH. I love every version of him that I’ve met so far, and I’m looking forward to meeting more versions of him in the next book. ❤

I love that Jessa is a writer, and that she keeps a notebook with her at all times. I love that this book has Danny, and I love how honest he is with his thoughts. He reminds me of David from What to Say Next, and maybe that’s because they both have autism. I just don’t trust myself with the specifics yet, because I still need to learn more about the spectrum.

Traveler presented an adventure I voluntarily signed up for – it took me to worlds I only dreamed of seeing, and it led me to meeting characters I’ve learned to love as I turn the pages. It left my heart broken and desperately hoping for the second book to come out already.

This series has the potential to be an absolute favorite. 🙂


Final Rating: 4.5/5

2 thoughts on “Swoon Saturday (4): Traveler by L.E. DeLano

  1. I’ll definitely have to check this book out further. Thanks so much for introducing it to me, and for an awesome post!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

What do you think?

