#BookMadness17: Tris Prior


When Maggie Ann Martin told me about #BookMadness17, I thought of a character immediately and crossed my fingers she wasn’t chosen yet.

Because this character is not just a character. She’s my hero.

She’s the girl whose name is as powerful as her spirit to fight for what she believes in.

This was the first photo of Shailene Woodley as Tris Prior.

Look at her.

Nostalgia strikes hard.

And this. Look at this one.

first-jumper

Tris. The first jumper. The girl who defined bravery for me.

This photo makes me feel brave every time I see it. It represents the courage I didn’t know I had in me. It ignites the fire that was once just a spark.

I downloaded a clip of this scene because it’s something I want to watch again and again.

Plus: it’s where she meets Tobias for the first time. FourTris is forever. <4

Warning: Spoilers to the Divergent series beyond this point.


I admired Tris the moment she chose Dauntless. No one saw it coming. Abnegation to Dauntless is unlikely. But that was just the beginning.

Tris shocked everyone when she stepped forward to be the first jumper. There was no guarantee of a net at the bottom – not until she actually jumped and the initiates above realized it.

She’s also one of the few people who dared to interact with Tobias. One of the few people who defied Eric during initiation. One of the few people who challenged the faction system. What made her different made her vulnerable, but it also made her strong. Her Divergence made her dangerous.

But what I love the most about Tris is her core. Her bravery is rooted in her selflessness – in her love for the people who matter to her.

She took Al’s place during the knife-throwing scene. She turned herself in to Jeanine for the madness to stop. And the most painful of them all – she faced death for the safety of her brother and the city.

Tris believed in something greater than her plans for herself. Divergent honed her strength and developed her character. Insurgent challenged her with her inner demons. Allegiant made her question her beliefs and shattered the foundation that was built in the first book.

In the end, she wanted redemption. And redeem herself, she did.

Can I be forgiven for all I’ve done to get here?
I want to be.
I can.
I believe it.

To this day, her last words still break my heart.

Tris Prior is a fictional character who brought real changes to my life. I will always remember her strength, and her bravery. She will always be my hero.

[For the feels: A clip of the zipline scene a.k.a. THAT SCENE THAT WILL BREAK YOUR HEART BECAUSE TOBIAS TAKES THE ZIPLINE IN ALLEGIANT TO SCATTER TRIS’ ASHES]


Right from the start, #BookMadness17 has been about choices. You have the power to champion the memory of our beloved Tris Prior. The decision is in your hands now, and I hope you choose the girl who cannot be controlled.

VOTE FOR TRIS HERE. <4

Signature II

6 thoughts on “#BookMadness17: Tris Prior

What do you think?

