What About Today by Dawn Lanuza


what-about-todayWhat About Today by Dawn Lanuza

Publication Date: April 24, 2015

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Note: This is a review of the edition from BuqoYA 4: Heart Choices

Goodreads Summary:

Aiden’s stuck working for his family’s amusement park, Funtastic World, for the whole summer. Nothing amuses him, until he met this terrified girl.

Gemma’s stuck in Funtastic World thinking she could handle the park’s rides. She couldn’t. Good thing she met someone to guide her.

As the day comes to a close, Aiden and Gemma ask themselves if one day is ever enough to decide if they were better off as friends or strangers.


My thoughts:

I love amusement parks. I crave the adrenaline from trying out the most extreme rides. But Gemma is my total opposite, and when you’re someone who’s terrified of what the amusement park can offer, having a guide would be of much help. Not to mention the guide has this smile that could replace the park’s sign for its brightness. A guide who technically owns the park.

Reading the story made me think of the Tornado, a ride I got to try for the first time when I went to Thailand with my family. Surviving it made me feel so proud of myself. I never thought I could do it, and that’s the wonderful thing about stepping out of your comfort zone. Every move is an achievement.

Gemma conquered her fear of the rides with Aiden beside her. They discovered things about themselves as they got to know each other. Trying the rides together created this bond fueled by adventure, and I couldn’t help but root for the two.

Sometimes, most insane of circumstances make the most unexpected of love stories. What About Today is a promising tale of two teens who took the leap to see what the rabbit hole of love has in store for them.


Final Rating: 4/5

Signature II

2 thoughts on “What About Today by Dawn Lanuza

  1. Hey! I think it is super cool that so many PH bloggers have started reading and reviewing more #romanceclass novels! This recent outbreak of support for local publishing is extremely beautiful to witness. But anyway. I’ve heard so many great things about Dawn’s writing. I just don’t know what title to pick up first! Maybe I’ll start with this one. Great review!

    ‪As promised on Twitter, I’m hopping from blog to blog to leave these behind: 🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻‬

    ‪Shealea @ That Bookshelf Bitch

What do you think?

