Break-Up Anniversary by Dawn Lanuza


break-up-anniversaryBreak-Up Anniversary by Dawn Lanuza

Publication Date: April 8, 2016

Genre: Romance

[Special thanks to Ate Dawn for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

It’s Beck’s break-up anniversary! Not that she’s been counting the days but there’s a possibility of a relapse. So what’s a girl to do? Call her best friend and tag her cubicle-mate turned drinking buddy, Jamie, along for the ride.


My thoughts:

Remembering the anniversary of a break-up is a telltale sign of lingering feelings, so you don’t get surprised when Beck talks about relapsing.

What’s interesting, though, is how she got distracted from the dreadful occasion. That’s what this short story is about.

I relate to Beck so much because details make marks on my heart when it comes to people I love. The way they smile, or laugh, the big moments you shared, and even the little things such as their quirks. I know how hard it is not to think about those details when you’re still trying to let go of someone. It even gets harder when those details pop in the most unexpected moments of your life, catching you off-guard and clicks the reset button on Project Move On.

For people like us, the only way to stop thinking about the person is to think about someone else. Something else works in some cases, but there’s nothing really more powerful than human connection.

Break-Up Anniversary is an ending that marked a new beginning, and for my first 2017 read, this one did not disappoint.


Final Rating: 4/5

Signature II

4 thoughts on “Break-Up Anniversary by Dawn Lanuza

  1. I’ve never thought of how powerful human connection really is until I’ve read it here. .__. Great choice of words Ate Fay.

  2. Can we get the full story of this na? Hahaha! I love this story as well reminds me of something. I never thought a short story can make me feel a lot of emotions. Great review as always!

What do you think?

