Welcoming 2017: A Year Full of Hope


It’s officially 2017! ❤

I couldn’t sleep without writing this post, because I really wanted to post this today. It’s not every year January 1st falls on a Sunday. 🙂

2016 tested me in a lot of ways, but it’s been a great year for my bookish adventures!


BIBLIOPHILE SOPRANO’S BOOKISH AWARDS 2016

Book Boyfriend of the Year: Nero Sison from Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions by Six de los Reyes

YA Book of the Year: The Secret of a Heart Note by Stacey Lee

NA Book of the Year: Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions by Six de los Reyes

Contemporary Book of the Year: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon / Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum / Everyone We’ve Been by Sarah Everett

Fantasy Book of the Year: Firefight by Brandon Sanderson

Mystery Book of the Year: The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby

Sci-Fi Book of the Year: Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Poetry Book of the Year: The Last Time I’ll Write About You by Dawn Lanuza

#romanceclass Book of the Year: Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions by Six de los Reyes

Book of the Year: After You by Jojo Moyes

I just realized I haven’t read a paranormal book in 2016 and that feels weird, but there are new awards! ❤

I haven’t written reviews for some of the winners yet (because college), but watch out for them! These books made my 2016 special and they deserve all the love. ❤

2016 HIGHLIGHTS

Book Signing Events! ❤

Amy and Andrea in PH (15) morgan-matson-in-ph-3

I was able to (finally) attend not one, but two book signing events! Read my event recaps for #AmyandAndreainPH and #MorganMatsoninPH! ❤

Bookworms Unite 2.0

Bookworms Unite happened AGAIN and it’s the first time my two sisters came with me. Read my event recap here. 🙂

Manila International Book Fair

Another finally! My sister and I went to MIBF 2016! Here’s my event recap!

Goodreads Reading Challenge 2016

It was my goal to read 52 books, but I was able to read 57! 🙂

#romanceclass  ❤

2016 is the year when I immersed myself in the #romanceclass community by attending events and supporting more books. I also dragged my two sisters with me, because FUN! ❤

I got the chance to attend three #romanceclass events: #AprilFEELSday, #AllTheFeels, and #FeelsFest, but I wasn’t able to write recaps for two events.

hashtag-all-the-feels-5One of the best parts of my year is seeing a book boyfriend come alive because of the live readings during #AllTheFeels.

Migs Almendras as Nero Sison. There is no other Nero. ❤

#romanceclass is not just a community now. It’s a family I’m grateful to be part of. ❤

ACHIEVED 2016 GOALS

Meet Ms. Kate Evangelista

Amy and Andrea in PH (17)

I finally met Ms. Kate! It was so nice to see her in person and have her sign my No Love Allowed ARC! ❤

Attend the Manila International Book Fair

I already featured this on the highlights, but…I’M JUST SOOOO HAPPY I FINALLY GOT THE CHANCE TO ATTEND! ❤

2017 BOOKISH GOALS

  • Host a blog event to support Filipino authors: I didn’t get the chance to do this last year, so I’ll give it a try this 2017!
  • Be more active in bookstagram: I will have a bookstagram re-launch, but posting every day is not a realistic goal for me, so I aim to post three times a week.
  • Get chosen as a rep on bookstagram: It has become my dream to be a store representative for a bookish business on Instagram! Fingers are crossed I get the chance!
  • Create lasting bonds with bookish friends: I want to have strong connections with my bookish friends by boosting my interactions on social media. I hope my college schedule doesn’t get in the way!

2016 was a tough year for me, but the important thing is I survived. It’s more than enough to prepare me for what 2017 may bring.

Here’s to a 2017 full of hope and possibilities! ❤

Signature II

What do you think?

