The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon


the-sun-is-also-a-starThe Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Publication Date: November 1, 2016 by Delacorte Press

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?


FIRST OF ALL, HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY TO THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR AND NICOLA YOON! ❤

I’ve been wanting to read The Sun is Also a Star since April and  I am so grateful that my book fairy granted my request for this book. ❤

My thoughts:

Feelings. Too much.

Too much that I find it so hard to express how I feel.

This is my attempt in telling you how much this book meant to me.

It starts with the deportation – it was made clear that Natasha doesn’t believe in fate right from the start (right from the blurb, actually) but desperate times call for desperate measures.

Daniel is expected to be the good son – and his parents’ definition of the term is not exactly how it means to him.

Everything that led to their meeting had a story. This book is a chain reaction and I love it.

In some ways, it felt like a YA version of Beginner’s Guide by Six de los Reyes. Natasha reminded me of Kaya. Daniel reminded me of Nero. Both books involve science, and somehow revolved around an experiment.

Aside from the writing style – which I really love because it’s short but sweet – the overall aesthetic of the book really got me hooked.

But because my mind can’t construct paragraphs anymore, I’ll talk about the things I loved about the book using bullet points:

  • Natasha and Daniel came from very different families. I enjoyed reading about the cultures presented in this book.
  • The book touched the importance of names , and of words in general. How their meanings affect lives, and why they should never be underestimated. Words are never just words.
  • I felt strongly for the characters and how they dealt with expectations – not just from their families, but also from the communities they live in, the society they’re part of.
  • The discrimination against art echoed in my heart. Being practical meant gravitating towards what will feed your family. Natasha kept on insisting being practical as Daniel fought for doing what you feel passionate about.
  • Daniel is a dreamer and I love him so much. I love how he talked about dreams and passion and feelings and just-

Let me quote Daniel Gilbert here:

Indeed, feelings don’t just matter–they are what mattering means.
-Daniel Gilbert

What a beautiful coincidence for Daniel Bae and Daniel Gilbert to share the name Daniel. It almost feels like fate.

To continue my list:

  • I love how most of the book happened in only one day – it shows that there are so many possibilities to live in the moment and to cherish the present.
  • It means so much to me that one of the strongest points in this book is that you can’t control love – when, where, why, how, and the most important of all: who. Once it happens, it happens. A connection between two souls is unbreakable.

One last thing. ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Natasha is Jamaican-American. So is Nicola. Daniel is Korean-American. So is her husband.

When you read the About the Author page, you’ll see that “She’s also a hopeless romantic who firmly believes that you can fall in love in an instant and that it can last forever.”

Me, too, Nicola. Me, too. Thank you for writing words from your heart. ❤

Natasha and Daniel are two people who believed in very different things. Love brought them together.  They made me smile, they made me laugh, they made me hold my breath, they almost made me cry, they made me want to scream, they made me want to hug the book and to hug Nicola for writing it, and most of all, they made a mark on my heart.

They say the universe is infinite. I say this book deserves that kind of love.


Final Rating:  ∞

Signature II

2 thoughts on “The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

What do you think?

