Witch’s Pyre by Josephine Angelini


witchs-pyreWitch’s Pyre by Josephine Angelini

Publication Date: September 20, 2016 by Feiwel and Friends

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Lily Proctor has come a long way from the weak, sickly girl she used to be. She has gained power as a witch and a leader, found her way home, chosen to face battle again, and (after losing her first love and being betrayed by her new love) she has learned more about loss and grief than she ever wanted to know.

Thrust once again into a society different from anything they have ever seen, Lily and her coven are determined to find answers―to find a new path to victory, a way to defeat the monstrous Woven without resorting to nuclear weapons or becoming a tyrannical mass murderer like her alternate self, Lillian. But sometimes winning requires sacrifices . . . and when the only clear path to victory lies at Lillian’s side, what price will Lily be willing to pay?

Internationally bestselling author Josephine Angelini takes us on another emotionally wrenching thrill ride in the stunning conclusion to her Worldwalker Trilogy.


My thoughts:

I really loved Firewalker, but having read it a year ago caused a little information dump in Witch’s Pyre. I felt the need to reread some parts because I didn’t get what was happening.

My struggle with the long chapters persisted until the third book. It took a while before I could finish reading.

A lot of things happened and it felt rushed. Especially the ending. I expected more from the war, and more from the epilogue.

I was really fascinated by the whole idea of the multiple universes, but in Witch’s Pyre, there were times when I’d get confused because of multiple versions of the characters. “Who was who again?” I’d ask.

Halfway through, I started to worry. I didn’t want to DNF this book. First, it was the end to a trilogy I liked. Second, I really believed it could get better.

And it did.

Early in the book, it can be noticed that Rowan was keeping a secret from Lily. And the moment it was revealed, my heart just felt so much emotion in Lily and Rowan’s reconciliation.

I loved Rowan right from the beginning of the trilogy. My heart broke for him when Lillian showed Lily the reason why River Fall was hanged. And when Rowan finally learned the truth from Lillian, it didn’t break him like Lillian expected it to. He was definitely hurt, but not broken.

We get to know more about the Woven, and we get to meet the real enemy. Lily and her coven make new friends, and alliances were formed with characters you least expected to be allies.

Lily and Lillian teamed up, but Lily stood by her beliefs. She didn’t cross the lines she wasn’t supposed to cross. She’s not Lillian – she was always her own person, and she stayed that way.

Set the struggles aside, bear with whatever’s holding you back from reading. Drop your expectations and keep on turning the pages. It will be worth it, if you believe in the book enough. Witch’s Pyre is a conclusion you wouldn’t want to miss.


Final Rating: 4/5

Signature II

2 thoughts on “Witch’s Pyre by Josephine Angelini

  1. Ha! I’m too scared to ever DNF in case the book comes good again, but then I’m left with reader’s remorse if it stays bad. Good on you for finishing this one, the trilogy sounds fun. I haven’t read it so glad to hear of it. Heather

What do you think?

