Summer Days and Summer Nights


Summer Days and Summer NightsSummer Days and Summer Nights

Publication Date: May 17, 2016 by St. Martin’s Griffin

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Maybe it’s the long, lazy days, or maybe it’s the heat making everyone a little bit crazy. Whatever the reason, summer is the perfect time for love to bloom.

Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories, written by twelve bestselling young adult writers and edited by the international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins, will have you dreaming of sunset strolls by the lake. So set out your beach chair and grab your sunglasses. You have twelve reasons this summer to soak up the sun and fall in love.


My thoughts:

Head, Scales, Tongue, Tail by Leigh Bardugo: 3.5/5
It was hard for me to understand the story at first, but eventually, I did. The unexpected turn of events took my rating higher than originally anticipated.

The End of Love by Nina LaCour: 3/5
This story didn’t really work for me, but I really liked the idea of the beginning/end of love.

Last Stand at the Cinegore by Libba Bray: 3.5/5
I didn’t expect this story to feel like a horror movie, but I enjoyed reading it.

Sick Pleasure by Francesca Lia Block: 2.5/5
This one is sad, and that would have appealed to my inclination to heartbreaking stories, but the letters in place of the names confused me and I didn’t really get some parts because of it.

In Ninety Minutes Turn North by Stephanie Perkins: 4/5
Finally. Something I could relate to. I loved the story of Marigold and North! This is a breakup without closure, the closure demanded by the girl, and what happens after that. ❤

Souvenirs by Tim Federle: 3/5
Not my cup of tea, but the quotes took the rating higher than it actually is.

Inertia by Veronica Roth: 4.5/5
THIS is my kind of story. The kind that would make a tearjerker scene in a movie.

Love is the Last Resort by Jon Skovron: 4.5/5
Ah, one of the surprises in this book that I loved. Had a great time reading this story because I enjoyed being with the characters. The ending was the best part.

Good Luck and Farewell by Brandy Colbert: 3/5
The typical goodbyes lead to hellos story.

Brand New Attraction by Cassandra Clare: 4/5
This one’s an adventure that I really enjoyed. It wasn’t as creepy as the Cinegore story, too.

A Thousand Ways this Could All Go Wrong by Jennifer E. Smith: 4/5
Another cute story that would make a swoonworthy short film!

The Map of Tiny Perfect Things by Lev Grossman: 4.5/5
A day on repeat would be crazy. Crazy good because you get to do anything you want, and admit it, “unlimited time” is so cool. Crazy-crazy because you can’t talk to anyone about it. Crazy sad if something bad happened – because it’ll keep happening. Crazy boring once you’ve run out of things to do. (Can you?) Crazy romantic when you’re with the right person. ❤

I would love to see this story as a movie. I would like to know more about temporal anomalies and how they could work. The possibilities are endless. This story was the sweet ending I needed for this anthology.

Wait, what if this anthology turns into a movie set in the last story? Like all of the stories happened in different places but at certain points the characters meet? That would be something I would run to the cinema to watch. 🙂

Summer Days and Summer Nights is a collection of stories with different flavors. Different readers would have different favorites. And while some of the stories were not for me, I do hope you find yourself in one, like I did with some. 🙂


Final Rating: 3.67/5

Signature II

What do you think?

