Summer Blogger Promo Tour 2016: A Recap


I was so excited to join this year’s Summer Blogger Promo Tour, but after surviving it, I don’t think I’ll be able to join next time.

First: I have a blog event every July, and I got overwhelmed with the things I needed to do. I wouldn’t want the same thing to happen next year.

Second: I’ll be starting my internship next year, because 2017 marks my last year in college.

Third: I think this kind of blogging activity is not really for me.


I’ve realized I work better when I have control over everything. In SBPT, you would need to work with other bloggers and wait for their guest posts. I’ve experienced the stress of not receiving the guest post on time, and because of recent happenings (like me getting injured then getting sick, plus internet connection problems), I’ve also sent some of my guest posts later than the scheduled date of posting for the hosting blogger, and I’m sorry for that.

I’m not really a group person, I guess. Maybe if I didn’t have a blog event for July, I would have focused more in SBPT. Then maybe I wouldn’t have missed any of the deadlines.

SBPT was meant to promote bloggers, and let me just get this out: I don’t think it’s unfair to the host blogger if you haven’t sent your guest post. Because it’s you who loses the chance to be on their blog and get promoted. The only downside of it for the host blogger is a change in posting schedule. The guest post would be posted late on their blog, and it could mess their blogging schedule a bit. I know that can be pretty frustrating but I still believe it’s more of a loss to the guest blogger than the host blogger.

Okay, drama over.

Despite my not-so-good experience this year, I still want to talk about what made the idea of SBPT great.

You get to meet new people.

You’re grouped with other bloggers, so it’s an opportunity to make friends.

You learn – one way or another.

Whether it’s with the posts or with the experience itself, you’ll learn a thing or two from SBPT.

You get to post new content on your blog.

Sometimes, you don’t have anything to post on your blog, but when it’s SBPT season, you get to post once a week, at least.

You discover post ideas.

I think the best part of SBPT are the post ideas. It surprised me how bloggers can think of so many interesting topics to post about. The uniqueness of each blogger is shown on the post ideas they share, and it always helps to keep some in mind!


I really appreciate all the effort that was put into this – from the idea of The Book Bratz to the guest posts of the bloggers. It was good to read the posts, and there were some that really stood out.

I decided not to join next year because I drowned in my to-do list this year and I can’t risk that happening on my last year in college. I do hope to try again in 2018.

Below are the guest posts for this year’s SBPT:

Michelle – Habits of a Bookaholic

Jennifer – Meeting Online Friends

Melissa – The Struggle is Real

Emily – My Blogging Family

Nicole and Sophia – Why We Need More Than Love

Jaclyn – Living in a World of Book Quotes

Carlisa – Guilty Pleasures: I Secretly Love It When


Thank you, Amber and Jessica, for hosting the promo tour.

I would also like to thank the bloggers above for featuring me on their blogs.

The entire experience taught me a lot, and I’m grateful. 🙂

Signature II

What do you think?

