[Goodreads Reviewer Interview] Mikee Andrea


Mikee Andrea

I met Mikee on Twitter and I discovered she’s one of the top reviewers on Goodreads!

Because I’m featuring Goodreads Reviewers for my blog event, I asked her if she would like to participate, and I’m glad she said yes! 🙂


The Interview II

PERSONAL QUESTIONS

What is your full name?

Mikee Andrea Demesa Quiambao. My first name is Mikee Andrea (pronounced My-Key) and that would make Demesa my middle name. Just to clarify. 😛

When is your birthday?

February 6

How old are you?

21

Favorite food?

Chicken Alfredo

Favorite color?

Red

Favorite flower?

Peonies especially the ones that haven’t fully blossomed yet.

Favorite song?

The Blackest Day by Lana Del Rey

Favorite TV show?

My favorite show of ALL time is probably Charmed. At the moment, Game of Thrones.

Favorite place to read and/or write reviews?

In bed! XD

Favorite book?

My favorite book of all time is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I think I read it like 5 times the year I first bought my copy and I own 3 different editions. 😛

ON GOODREADS

Who are you when you’re on Goodreads?

I’d like to think that the person I am on Goodreads is a good representation of who I am in real life. I don’t try to be someone I’m not or pretend to like certain books just because everyone else does. I try to be as honest as I can be with my thoughts and opinions in my reviews. And I always love bonding with new people over our love for books. In all honesty though, the person I am on Goodreads is a shameless fangirler whereas my real self is probably more composed and self-possessed. 😛

Who are you when you’re not on Goodreads?

I’m just a 21 year old college student who secretly reviews books on the side in her spare time. 😉

Which do you prefer more?

I try to represent my real self on my social media accounts as closely as I possibly can but I find that I enjoy myself on Goodreads more than myself when I’m not. Because of Goodreads, I’m able to escape reality and surround myself with people who love the same books I do.

What do you love about Goodreads?

I just love being able to talk books with people who love them equally as I do and more. Sadly, I know too few people in my life that read books outside of required reading. 😦

How do you see yourself in the Goodreads community?

I’m just a girl who loves to read books. 🙂 Not much to it than that! I’m not trying to establish a name for myself or trying to put myself out there. All the books I read and all the books I review are to hopefully help other readers discover books they have yet to read or to be that push that gets readers to pick up books they’ve long been hesitating about reading.

Why don’t you have a book blog?

I want to have a book blog but at the same time I don’t. I know next to nothing on web design so I honestly wouldn’t even know where to start. I love reading and reviewing books for fun and for myself. I just feel like running a blog would make reading feel like a job and would take away from the joy I get from reading/reviewing. I’m afraid that it would start to feel as if I’m doing it for other people and for popularity rather than for myself. I always struggled when I was forced to read books in school and when I feel pressured by the need to be constantly reading or reviewing, I slowly start falling into a reading slump. I know blogging is probably far from this nor am I saying that people blog for popularity, but I just enjoy things the way they are without having to commit myself to always worrying about posting a review or blog post every single day, every other day, or what ever day. Blogging is a lot of work and I give major props to bloggers for dedicating themselves to running their blogs. It takes a lot of time and dedication, and I’m not really sure if that’s something I’m ready to commit to yet. Maybe I’ll start my own blog one day, maybe I won’t. Only time will tell. 🙂

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

To be completely honest, I don’t think I’ve ever heard of the term “book discrimination” before. But if I were to guess, I would assume it means something along the lines of not reading a book for particular reasons. For example, some readers prefer to avoid books that have rape because it might be a personal topic for them or because they simply don’t want to read about characters experiencing rape.

How do you feel about it?

I feel like it’s something we are all guilty of doing, but not something we should feel completely guilty about. “Book discrimination” has such a negative connotation because of how discrimination, in general, is perceived by society. But honestly, some books work for us, some don’t. If you don’t want to read certain books because of whatever reason then you shouldn’t feel bad or be forced to read books you don’t want to. You might be missing out on good books or you might not. Overall, I believe that book discrimination is inevitable because not every book out there is made for us and surely we won’t like all the books we read.

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

In truth, I think book discrimination happens because there’s just certain things lacking about the book that prompts us to read them. Sometimes the author is self-published and since you have no prior reading experience with their books, you won’t know if the book, to put it bluntly, is good or up to par with the more popular books that most of us are familiar with or sometimes the book simply doesn’t interest you.

What would you do against it?

I think book discrimination isn’t something we can rid of completely, especially since we’re all guilty of it whether we realize it or not. It would be great if readers take little steps out of their comfort zone every once in awhile and pick up a book they won’t normally read. Or maybe give self-published authors a chance because chances are you’ll find a hidden gem that you never thought you were looking for. And TRY not to judge a book by its cover. I’ve read plenty of good books with less than stellar covers and covers with less than stellar stories. You’re guaranteed to miss out on a good book if you base your choices off of covers alone.

Fill in the blanks. More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

More people should read Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin because it’s set in a world of alternate history in which the infamous Hitler survives and wins World War II. Although this book has generated a lot of buzz, it’s nearly not as big as it deserves to be because this book is fantastic!


Thank you so much for your participation in this blog event, Mikee! 🙂

VISIT HER GOODREADS ACCOUNT HERE.

Signature II

What do you think?

