[Blogger Interview] Nia from Books, Feels and Tears


Nia CarnelioNia from Books, Feels and Tears

I met Nia on Twitter and because I’m featuring bloggers from different cultures, I chose her to be featured in this year’s blog event! I really appreciate her participation, and I hope this interview will help you get to know her more! 🙂


The Interview II

PERSONAL QUESTIONS

What is your full name?

Nia Lizia Carnelio

When is your birthday?

27th February, 1997

How old are you?

19 years.

Favorite food?

Pizza.

Favorite color?

Black.

Favorite flower?

Don’t really have one, but since one half of my OTP is called Lily, I guess that works. [James and Lily Potter, Harry Potter.]

Favorite song?

Changes every week. Currently, Youth and Blue Neighbourhood Trilogy by Troye Sivan.

Favorite TV show?

Supernatural & FRIENDS.

Favorite place to read and/or blog?

At home, I’ve got a special spot on the sofa that’s just mine. Very Sheldon Cooper of me.

Favorite book?

Harry Potter. My love for that series is eternal. And All For The Game trilogy by Nora Sakavic.

ON BLOGGING

Who are you when you’re blogging? (The best person ever?)

Haha, I wish.

Who are you when you’re not blogging?

When I’m not blogging, I’m a final year Lit student pursuing a BA at university.

Which do you prefer more?

Both are equally cool to me, but I tend to like myself when I’m doing the things I love of which blogging is pretty high on the list.

What drives you to blog more?

I blog when I want to, so the moment inspiration strikes, I’m blogging. Free time, better interaction and just the writing drives me to blog more.

How do you see yourself in the blogosphere?

I see myself as someone who usually sits on the side-lines and rarely plays. I love being part of the blogging community, but since I tend not to be around a lot, it’s very distant for me at times.

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to your blog?

Not really. I’ll do anything that catches my fancy. Happiness before perfection for me.

Do you like making outlines when you blog, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

Start from scratch and then work my way up from where I started. A fresh start usually gives me the best perspective when I want to write something.

How much do your followers mean to you?

A lot. I do care about the interactions I have with them and how they receive my work. It encourages me to improve and helps me learn new stuff and gives me different perspectives.

What is the best blogging advice that you could share with us?

Do your own thing. Don’t listen to the haters. Or the people who say there’s a fixed way to do things. You do you.

For my blog event this year, I am featuring bloggers from different cultures. How does your Indian background influence your reading experience?

As an Indian there’s a very good emphasis on reading here in my culture, but unfortunately, there’s a lot of importance on Indian authors and classics. Very few read YA and it’s not really popular here. But on the diversity basis, there’s a wide variety of books to choose from. I began reading at a really early age and was encouraged to read from almost everyone in society.

Are there books that you’re not allowed to read?

Yes, books that offend religious sentiments often get banned here. For example, Salman Rushdie’s The Satanic Verses or Wendy Dongier’s The Hindus. They have to be snuck into the country if one wants to read them.

How would you describe the literature in your culture?

Diverse. From excellent ancient literature that spans centuries to complete trash that masquerade as bestsellers, there’s a lot of diversity in Indian literature. Some are truly amazing works of art while some are terrible and make me wonder why they were even published.

Is there a book that you would like to promote?

Weirdly, I don’t read a lot of Indian authors because none of them write good quality YA that I enjoy reading. But anything written by Amitav Ghosh or Rabindranath Tagore is a pretty damn good book to read.

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

Elitist reading – when someone says classics are the only books to be read or YA is childish, to me, that’s book discrimination.

How do you feel about it?

I hate it. What someone reads shouldn’t be used to make them feel bad. Books shouldn’t be read because they’re supposed to be read, but because you want to.

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

I think it stems from people whose love for books becomes negative instead of positive. It goes from, “I think you should give this book a read,” to “You MUST read this book, it’s the best thing in the world and everything else sucks compared to it.”

What would you do against it?

Just, tell people to shut up and let people read what they want to. If someone is being an elitist reader and they try to shove something as the best, I will shut them down. Probably by telling them to keep their elitist and judgmental being away from me.

Fill in the blanks. More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline because it is completely and utterly genius science fiction.


VISIT THE BLOG HERE.

Signature II

4 thoughts on “[Blogger Interview] Nia from Books, Feels and Tears

What do you think?

