[Author Interview] Cindy Anstey


Cindy AnsteyCindy Anstey

Cindy is the author of Love, Lies and Spies, plus the upcoming Duels and Deception from Swoon Reads.

I’m glad to have the chance to feature her on the blog! Learn more about her through this interview!


The Interview II PERSONAL QUESTIONS

What is your full name?

Cindy Anstey

When is your birthday?

August

How old are you?

Old enough to avoid this question.

Favorite food?

Anything with cream is extra scrumptious.

Favorite color?

Blue: cerulean, azure, cobalt, sapphire, turquoise

Favorite flower?

I love most flowers but particularly enjoy my success with orchids.

Favorite song?

It depends on my mood.

Favorite TV show?

Castle.

Favorite place to read and/or write?

Reading: curled up in a comfy chair in our library (we converted our living room)

Favorite book?

I have many, many favorites—hence the library.

ON WRITING

Who are you when you’re writing?

A sensible lady relating, melodrama and character antics with amusement.

Who are you when you’re not writing?

A gardener, traveler and artist (wife, mother, daughter etc. I am busy)

Which do you prefer more?

Both. Life is about balance.

What drives you to write more?

Me, myself and I.

How often do you experience writer’s block and what do you do to get out of it?

If I stumble and can’t find my way forward, I know I have taken a wrong turn. I go back a paragraph/page/chapter and take a different path.

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to your work?

Absolutely. I edit the previous day’s work before continuing.

Do you like making outlines when you write, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

I always outline but allow my characters to deviate if they wish to go in a different direction… I alter the outline accordingly.

If you could do both at the same speed, which would you prefer: Writing on paper or typing your words? Why?

Absolutely prefer typing on the computer: I find it easier to think and organize—rearrange and search back for continuity.

What is the best writing advice that you could share with us?

Reading is the gateway to writing—but pick your books carefully.

Of all the things that you’ve ever written (poems, essays, short stories, novels, etc.), which one is the most special to you?

My favorite will always be my WIP. Currently, it is a book with the working title, A Lesson In Manors.

ON HER BOOK

What inspired the idea of your first book with Swoon Reads, Love, Lies and Spies?

While researching, I came across a reference to smugglers passing messages for the French during the Napoleonic Wars. I pictured a solitary figure standing on a cliff, looking out to sea and the idea was born!

What message would you like your readers to learn from that book?

Love, Lies and Spies is a romantic comedy. I would suggest that life needs laughter to counterbalance the disappointments.

What is the greatest challenge that you have encountered in the publishing world and how did you overcome it?

Finding a publisher. Tenacity won the day!

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

As best as I understand it, you are talking about preconceived concepts interfering with the enjoyment of books—such as not liking the cover, the genre etc.

How do you feel about it?

Reading is subjective; it is impossible to please everyone.

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

Human nature and the freedom to choose.

What would you do against it?

Advocate reading a variety of books.

Fill in the blanks. More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

More people should read for the sheer pleasure of it by blocking out all distractions because reading can be an armchair adventure.


Thank you so much for participating in  my blog event, Cindy! Your answers mean a lot! And I just love what you said about reading being an armchair adventure. ❤

Signature II

2 thoughts on “[Author Interview] Cindy Anstey

What do you think?

