[Blogger Interview] Aentee from Read at Midnight


Aentee from Read at MidnightAentee from Read at Midnight

Aentee is a blogger whom I associate with bright pink lights! Her bookstagram has a holiday vibe and who doesn’t love the holidays? Also, she’s a sweet person on Twitter! Get to know her more by reading this interview. 🙂


The Interview II

PERSONAL QUESTIONS

When is your birthday?

5/December!

How old are you?

Mid-20s

Favorite food?

My mum’s or my boyfriend’s chicken curry, one is Vietnamese and the other Indian- I can’t choose!

Favorite color?

I love anything vibrant.

Favorite flower?

Magnolia and orchid.

Favorite song?

The Cloud Atlas Sextet, gets me all emotional every time.

Favorite TV show?

Battlestar Galactica!

Favorite place to read and/or blog?

On my commute to work.

Favorite book?

The Orphan’s Tale Duology by Catherynne Valente

ON BLOGGING

Who are you when you’re blogging?

Writer of ravings and nonsense, mainly.

Who are you when you’re not blogging?

Just your average barely functioning adult.

Which do you prefer more?

I don’t think I prefer either one, they’re both me!

What drives you to blog more?

Seeing other great content on the blogosphere.

How do you see yourself in the blogosphere?

Another book lover, with a penchant for spamming people with my graphics and photos.

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to your blog?

Yes, I only want to have original, aesthetically pleasing content on the blog.

Do you like making outlines when you blog, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

I am not a planner, so I wing it every time.

How much do your followers mean to you?

They’re my precious cinnamon rolls! Still can’t believe people would follow me.

What is the best blogging advice that you could share with us?

I heard this from Jeann of Happy Indulgence: commenting is the lifeblood of blogging. So true, no better way to get yourself out there.

For my blog event this year, I am featuring bloggers from different cultures. How does your Vietnamese background influence your reading experience?

Due to my background I have a particular interest in South East Asian stories, whether it be Vietnamese or from another culture. I also love stories about race. I try to read at least one Vietnamese book in my language a year, I am quite slow though!

Are there books that you’re not allowed to read?

No, but I learned later on in life that many of the manga I read when I was younger were censored. Nudity and homosexuality were written out, this makes me sad.

How would you describe the literature in your culture?

A lot of the popular work are translated fiction and we appreciate literature from all cultures. The most famous Vietnamese novel was written in prose, and speaks of two sisters and their tumultuous life! It has a melancholy feel, but gorgeous writing that simply cannot be translated.

Is there a book that you would like to promote?

The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen. It is good enough for the Publitzer, after all.

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

Presumption about a person’s lifestyle and identity because of books they read.

How do you feel about it?

Book snobbery should be eradicated.

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

People not reading enough books from one particular genre and what they disliked was enough to amplify negativity.

What would you do against it?

Encourage people to read more books!

Fill in the blanks. More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

More people should read View from the Cheap Seat by Neil Gaiman because he has a section in there about snobbery against children’s fiction that we can all learn from. Also, I love him!


VISIT THE BLOG HERE.

Signature II

What do you think?

