Welcome to Envy Park by Mina V. Esguerra


Welcome to Envy ParkWelcome to Envy Park by Mina V. Esguerra

Publication Date: October 19, 2013

Genre: New Adult Contemporary

Goodreads Summary:

Moira Vasquez is a doer. A planner. A get-up-and-goer. At twenty-two, she left her hometown to work in Singapore, to satisfy a need to travel as well as give her savings account a boost. Five years later and she’s back in Manila, with a shiny new apartment to her name, but no job, no career, no boyfriend. She meets Ethan Lorenzo, the quiet hunk of an IT consultant on the ninth floor of her condo building, and he’s a welcome distraction during this period of having absolutely nothing going on in her life.

But she has a plan — of course she does — and this is just a short layover on the way to the next country, the next job, the next big thing. Or will she be missing out on something great that’s already there?


My thoughts:

For my blog event every year, I try to read at least one New Adult book. The 2014 book was Boomerang by Noelle August. The 2015 book was Rules We Like Breaking by Mina V. Esguerra. And this year’s book was supposed to be Just for the Record by Six de los Reyes. But, life happens. To be more specific, bookish events happen, and because I technically didn’t have allowance (I’m still a student and I’m in college!), I wasn’t able to buy a copy of the book.

I still needed a New Adult book for my blog event, and I came across the Buqo app on my phone. That was when Welcome to Envy Park called to me.

I remember reading a few chapters of the book on Wattpad. I think that was a draft version because I could recall it ended with “9J” – the ending of Chapter 9.

I was a bit frustrated that time because I wanted more of the book. That chapter was SO KILIG!!! And last April 17, also known as the #AprilFEELSday, Rachel Coates and Gio Gahol performed THAT SAME CHAPTER on the live readings.

So I thought, maybe this book was really meant to be read right now.

It’s not my typical read because 1) it’s NA, 2) it’s not an ARC, and 3) it wasn’t really on my schedule. But relating this experience to Moira and Ethan, sometimes you just have to “let it happen” – and I’m glad I’ve read this book because it was a short read with the dose of feels I needed at the moment.

I’ve also realized that I’m already 18, and I’m legally allowed to read NA, so I think I’m going to step out of my “comfort zone” (Mina V. Esguerra + Noelle August) and read NA books by more authors once in a while.

In This Life by Christine Brae and Beginner’s Guide by Six de los Reyes are two books out of my comfort zone, and I’m happy to have read those books. (You know how I feel about Beginner’s Guide, right? #Nero)

On top of my realizations, I just have to say that reading a backlist title feels great. 🙂 ALSO, SUPPORT FOR FILIPINO AUTHORS! ❤

Back to the book. WHAT’S WITH THE NAME ETHAN? Seriously, it’s a popular name for book boyfriends. My favorite among the Ethans (so far) are YA Ethan from Tell Me Three Things and NA Ethan from this book. ❤

Like Moira, I’m also a planner – and I really hate it when things don’t go as planned. But as I grow up, I’m starting to believe planning is not always the best way to go. I’m starting to believe just going with the flow is cool, too. That’s why I liked Moira so much. 🙂

I love the “strange fire drill” and the last two chapters – they totally caught me off-guard, leaving a smile on my face. The next thing I know is that I’ve finished the book.

I was left hanging before, but this “reunion” with the book felt so sweet. ❤


Final Rating: 4/5

Signature II

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Envy Park by Mina V. Esguerra

What do you think?

