[Author Interview] Six de los Reyes


Six de los ReyesSix de los Reyes

I met Ate Six because of #buqoYA and since then, I’ve become an avid fan – of her hair, then her as a person, and of course, her writing.

I REALLY REALLY LOVE HER BOOK, BEGINNER’S GUIDE: LOVE AND OTHER CHEMICAL REACTIONS. ❤

Today, you’ll get to know one of the coolest authors I’ve met. 🙂


The Interview II PERSONAL QUESTIONS

What is your full name?

Alexis de los Reyes

Favorite food?

I don’t have one specifically, but I do have a thing for dessert things.

Favorite color?

Yellow

Favorite flower?

Sunflowers? Irises? Peonies?

Favorite song?

You actually expect me to pick just one? Hmmm. Right now, at this very moment, I’ve been listening to this Japanese rock band’s latest album on repeat.

Favorite TV show?

I don’t have enough attention span to watch TV, sadly.

Favorite place to read and/or write?

Somewhere I can be alone—metaphorically. I like to keep my headspace clear of familiar faces. So anywhere I won’t be bothered, anywhere I can sit and write and focus on putting one word after the other, that’s a good spot for me. Currently, it’s at the coffee shop downstairs.

Favorite book?

Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palahniuk.

ON WRITING

Who are you when you’re writing?

Not “me.”

Who are you when you’re not writing?

A mermaid labrat

(SEE? I TOLD YOU, SHE’S COOL!)

Which do you prefer more?

The thing is, when I’m writing I’m so stressed out, but I’m just as stressed out (possibly more) when I’m not writing. But I’ll still take the writing stress anyday.

What drives you to write more?

Just the crazy plot bunnies inside my head.

How often do you experience writer’s block and what do you do to get out of it?

I don’t know if Writer’s Block is a Thing. All I do is sit and write and force the words out if I have to. I can’t wait for inspiration to strike because it’s unreliable and fickle and eh. Of course there are days when I sit and stare at my screen and get nothing done, but you got to grapple with the words and wrestle them into submission.

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to your work?

I don’t think I am, but I’ve had betas say I am.

Do you like making outlines when you write, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

I like outlines. Outlines are Life. Outlines will save you on the days you don’t feel like writing, they will save you when you’ve taken a break from a manuscript for whatever reason, and they will save you for they focus your attention on what needs to be done in a whatever stage of the story you’re in.

If you could do both at the same speed, which would you prefer: Writing on paper or typing your words? Why?

yping. It’s easier and all around more convenient. You can bring your work everywhere, sync across all devices, and it’s easier to hide from prying eyes.

What is the best writing advice that you could share with us?

Everyone says this: Read more. Write more.

Of all the things that you’ve ever written (poems, essays, short stories, novels, etc.), which one is the most special to you?

HMMMM…

(Winning answer to this question, so far!)

ON HER BOOKS

What inspired the idea of your first book, Just for the Record?

The heat. It was the worst of that year’s summer and I needed some way to enjoy the idea of a heatwave. Heh. I’ve already had those characters running around my head for a year or so, and I’ve had a draft of Rhys’s story Unplugged laying around somewhere by that time. So Just for the Record is something of a side story that happened unexpectedly even for me

What message would you like your readers to learn from that book?

I don’t I have one? At least not consciously? Just come in with no preconceived notions and take it for what it is?

What inspired the idea of your latest book, Beginner’s Guide?

We need STEM MCs. (And Nero) I said some time ago, that I should probably write characters in the science research profession, so that’s what I did.

(LET ME USE THIS SPACE TO FANGIRL OVER NERO AGAIN BECAUSE NERO IS <3! #NERONERONERONERO)

What message would you like your readers to learn from that book?

I don’t think I really have conscious messages in books. I just have a story, and the reader can make of it what they will. I guess what I just wanted to show, was that science people are people too.

What is the greatest challenge that you have encountered in the publishing world and how did you overcome it?

Getting the work out there. How do I make people know that the book exists and how do I get it to them in a way that’s convenient for them.

How does it feel to be an indie author?

It’s unreal? It doesn’t feel like I can say “I’m an indie author” because there’s a day job and school that takes up most of my headspace HAHA so most days I just feel like a person who writes stuff sometimes.

You currently have a Young Adult manuscript on Swoon Reads. How different is the writing experience with YA and NA books? Which would you prefer?

The writing experience doesn’t really differ that dramatically. I’m still the same wreck figuring out how to put down the right words to tell the story. Once I finish the outline and get into the character, the struggle whittles down to the words. The words are always the hardest part.

CHECK OUT THE PRETTIEST WALLFLOWER ON SWOON READS

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

Book discrimination is when you refuse to read a book for whatever reason.

How do you feel about it?

I guess I can respect a person’s reasons for not wanting to read a specific book for whatever reason this person perceives as valid. I can’t make people read my books for the same reason a person can’t force me to read something I might not be in the proper mental state to read.

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

Preconceived notions and an unwillingness to try something outside one’s comfort zone.

What would you do against it?

I always believe that the right book will reach the person at the time one needs it the most. You’ll always find the book you never thought you’d read or needed to read until you do and that changes your perspective on everything else—and your reading habits–after it.

Fill in the blanks. More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

More people should read books by authors outside their preferred genre because it’s a whole new unexplored world out there.


Click on the links to read my reviews for Beginner’s Guide and Just for the Record.

Signature II

Giveaway! ❤

Win e-books of Just for the Record and Beginner’s Guide! [INT]

What do you think?

