[Guest Post] Meeting Online Friends


Hello all! Thank you to both The Book Bratz for allowing me to be a part of this amazing tour and Fay for having me as a guest here on her lovely blog.  I hope everyone is enjoying the tour as much as I am.


Meeting Online Friends

When I first signed up for the tour, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect because this is my first time participating.  However, I was so excited because I knew that I’d get to “meet” and get to know more of my fellow book bloggers and members of the online bookish community.  I don’t have a lot bookish friends in real life, but have made so many online friends who love books as much as I do since joining Twitter, Goodreads, Instagram, and now starting a blog. If only, these friends lived closer…

You see, many people dream of meeting rock stars or celebrities, but I dream of meeting my online friends, fellow readers, and authors.  In fact, I have actually had the chance to meet a couple of my online bookish friends (and authors) and for that I am forever grateful.

Last year, I was lucky enough to meet Stefani from Caught Read Handed when she came my way for the Decatur Book Festival. I was still relatively new to the bookish online community and she was the first member I had met in person so I was super nervous…like I-almost-didn’t-approach-her nervous.  But Stefani was (and still is) awesome and made me feel so comfortable.  By the end of the weekend, I was sad to see her go. I really hope to see her again someday.

I met a few other online friends and authors that weekend and I am sure there were many other bookish community members/bloggers there that I was too nervous or oblivious to approach…probably even a few I didn’t know as well as I do now. However, as exciting as it was to meet or see some of my online friends, there are so many more that I’d like to meet someday.  To be honest, I’d pretty much love to meet anyone and everyone. I know I’ll leave so many people off a list if I attempt to type one up, but there are a few that I feel I need to mention.

There’s Alyssa, Brittany, and Amy…hosts of #OTSPSecretSister, a bookish secret sister exchange program where I’ve “met” and made so many new friends.  I would like to meet them in person so I can give them each a hug and thank them for connecting me with so many of my online friends including Heather, my “secret sister” from the first round (another person I desperately want to meet someday).

Then there is Staci, one of my best friends despite having never met in person. We met on Twitter and we just clicked. We’ve have long-distance movie nights, late night chats, and have even become snail mail pen pals. I have almost forgotten what life was like before I knew her.

And I can’t forget Stephanie…without her, I might never have started blogging.  She gave me the kick in the pants that I needed to get started. She’s become a great friend to me whose messages I look forward to each day. We have discovered that we have so much in common, we could easily be the same person. I’d love to meet her someday.

Like I said, there are so many online friends I dream of meeting…if I listed them all, we’d be here all day. So if you are reading this, I’d love to meet you someday.  Who knows? Maybe we will!


Jennifer (Never Too Many To Read)

Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads | Website

What do you think?

