[Blogger Interview] Salve from Cuckoo for Books


Salve VillarosaSalve from Cuckoo for Books

I think one of my most memorable interactions with Ate Salve was when I tweeted her about keeping book babies safe and she posted a photo of her Six of Crows ARC buckled up. I met her in person during #BookwormsUnite, and I also got the chance to watch her live readings for #AprilFeelsDay.


The Interview II

PERSONAL QUESTIONS

What is your full name?

Salve Anne Marie Villarosa–it’s a mouthful, I know!

When is your birthday?

July 27

Favorite food?

Sushi, and my Ate Rose’s lechon kawali!

Favorite color?

Purple

Favorite flower?

Peonies!

(THIS IS VERONICA ROSSI’S FAVORITE FLOWER! #SHARING)

Favorite song?

Fields of Gold (the Eva Cassidy cover)

Favorite TV show?

Ooh brace yourself for a long answer! It’s a toss-up between Law & Order: SVU, Criminal Minds, and the classic Golden Girls.

Favorite place to read and/or blog?

Favorite reading place would be my cozy wingback armchair in my room. Favorite place to vlog, obviously my library!

Favorite book?

Aside from the obvious Potter answer, I love rereading Tamora Pierce’s novels, as well as Meg Cabot’s Mediator novels.

ON BLOGGING

Who are you when you’re blogging?

A chatterbox, Twitter lurker, Filipina Booktuber, and a Tamora Pierce crusader.

Who are you when you’re not blogging?

STILL a huge bookworm, but also a freelance performer (most recently for #romanceclass!), TV show addict and self-proclaimed potato. I also help out with Jarheads, my brother’s line of artisanal jams (little shameless plug).

(SEE THIS POST BY MS. MINA V. ESGUERRA FOR THE ROMANCE CLASS PODCAST!)

Which do you prefer more?

A little bit of both, although I DO get to fangirl more when I’m blogging!

What drives you to blog more?

It’s setting goals for myself was a blogger. Everytime I achieve one, I always think to myself, “Yes! You did it! Now keep going!!!” I guess you could say I’m a bit of an overachiever that way!

How do you see yourself in the blogosphere?

“Hey, it’s that girl who always lugs two bags of film equipment to author signings!”

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to your blog?

Oh, DEFINITELY. I check and double check whenever I send something out into the interwebs!

Do you like making outlines when you blog, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

I like to do a bit of both–with reviews I do make notes before filming, but with book tags and other feature videos I like to wing it and see what I come up with!

How much do your followers mean to you?

They mean so much! Kind of cliche, but every kind comment I get really does make my day! Some of my followers are also bloggers that I admire a lot, so in that way I guess my followers are also my inspiration.

What is the best blogging advice that you could share with us?

You do you, bro. At the end of the day, it’s your blog, and you should feel free to do whatever you want with it! Except, like, illegal stuff.

For my blog event this year, I would like to feature Filipino booktubers. Can you share the story of your booktube journey?

I started just over a year ago. At the time, I’d had my written blog for just over a year, but I felt like I wasn’t progressing, both creatively and within the blogosphere. I decided that creating a BookTube channel might be a better fit for me–I know nothing about HTML and graphic design, but I’m pretty handy with a camera, editing program, and talking for hours on end about books! In this past year I feel like I’ve grown more as a blogger than the year before that.

What are the great things about being a Filipino booktuber?

There aren’t a lot of Filipino BookTubers around yet, so it feels great to help make this little community grow! It brings a huge smile to my face whenever someone tells me, “FINALLY, a Filipina BookTuber! I’ve been looking for one for forever!!”

What are the struggles of a Filipino booktuber?

In the same way that I feel honored to be that “FINALLY, I’ve waiting for this!” girl, it’s also tough when you’re looking for someone to collab with, or to relate to on BookTube. Also, in terms of logistics, I’m about a million miles away from all the Booktube/Youtuber events & conventions!!! 😀

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

Judging a book by its cover, not just literally, but also when you judge a book based on its reputation, fans, or genre, without taking the time to pick up the book yourself.

How do you feel about it?

I can’t say that I’m completely innocent, because I HAVE done that in the past. But it is sad because reading should be about opening your mind to new things, and not boxing in your thoughts.

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

Marketing. It’s obviously a huge cog in the publishing machine, but think about it! What if you just picked up a plain black book—nobody’s telling you what genre it is, or if it’s YA, adult fiction, NA. You’d be able to focus more on the story than wondering if it’s your type of book.

What would you do against it?

Set an example by opening myself up to more books, trading recommendations with other bookworms–the book community shouldn’t have walls created by genre or age demographic! I would happily read a middle-grade novel and pass it on to a college-age bookworm!

Fill in the blanks. More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

More people should read the Tortall books by Tamora Pierce because she is the grand dame of YA fantasy! A lot of today’s bestselling authors (Sarah J. Maas, Leigh Bardugo, etc.) cite her as an inspiration! #TamoraPierceCrusader


VISIT THE YOUTUBE CHANNEL HERE.

Signature II

Giveaway! ❤

Win signed books from #AmyandAndreainPH!

3 thoughts on “[Blogger Interview] Salve from Cuckoo for Books

What do you think?

