[Blogger Interview] Bayram from Never Ending Books


Bayram FuratBayram from Never Ending Books

I came across Bayram’s Twitter account last month and we became instant friends when we both persuaded Miguel (The Quirky Reader) to post a photo of the pillow he mentioned during the #teenbloggerschat on blogging essentials. More bookish friends joined the “petition” and Miguel finally posted a photo of the pillow.


The Interview II

PERSONAL QUESTIONS

What is your full name?

Bayram Furat

When is your birthday?

September 15

How old are you?

17 this year

Favorite food?

Iskender (its like gyro with sauce and yogurt)

Favorite color?

Green

Favorite song?

Constantly changes but recently I’m really liking Good Touch by Good Graeff

Favorite TV show?

Legend of Korra

Favorite place to read and/or blog?

Café/bookstore

Favorite book?

I could never pick just one favorite book but one of my favorite books is ACOMAF.

ON BLOGGING

Who are you when you’re blogging?

Someone who can express his love for reading and books in general.

Who are you when you’re not blogging?

A high school student that doesn’t get enough sleep.

Which do you prefer more?

It’s a mixture, sometimes I prefer blogging and other times I don’t.

What drives you to blog more?

Interacting with the bloggers and others in the book community.

How do you see yourself in the blogosphere?

Kind of a rarer voice since I’m a male blogger (which there aren’t that many of) who is also Muslim.

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to your blog?

Yes, I’m not good with graphics but I do my best.

Do you like making outlines when you blog, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

Start from scratch.

How much do your followers mean to you?

They mean a lot, I’ve made several really good friendships with other bloggers I’ve met.

What is the best blogging advice that you could share with us?

Don’t pay attention to how “popular” your blog is, just blog because you want to and because you enjoy it.

For my blog event this year, I am featuring bloggers from different cultures. How does your religion influence your reading experience?

My religion doesn’t influence my reading experience that much compared to others, I don’t really like reading books filled with romance although that might just be me. Additionally, I feel very strongly about books written about Islam and I’ve spoken out about books that I think portrays it unfairly.

Are there books that you’re not allowed to read?

Nope.

How would you describe the literature in your culture?

Turkish books don’t compare to English ones (at least for YA). That’s the reason a lot of Turkish YA readers read translated books from American authors instead of Turkish ones. However, we have some amazing books on poetry and religion.

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

I see it as specific books being singled out and discriminated against for their contents.

How do you feel about it?

Sometimes its justified and sometimes its not. A recent example would be American Terrorist by Todd Strasser which portrays Muslims and Islam unfairly and received lots of justified negative response to it.

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

The content of the book itself and the culture of the readers and the author.

What would you do against it?

Defend the ones I believe shouldn’t be discriminated against by explaining my reasons for why I feel the way I do and appealing to the other side.

Fill in the blanks. More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

More people should read books by Muslim authors because they are a unique voice that hasn’t been seen much in mainstream YA.


VISIT THE BLOG HERE.

Signature II

What do you think?

