Stay Alive


Last month, I saw a lot of hate posts and violent reactions to the printing of a social serye which got popular on Facebook.

As blogger Ren Mayari had put it, “they’re screenshots of text messages two people were sending each other” and this kind of book is “obviously unconventional.”

All of the hate posts and violent reactions had me thinking about this matter and led me to writing this post, which is inspired by this blog post by Ren Mayari – mostly because I’ve had the same thoughts upon reading what she wrote, and I wanted to share it with you.

You see, my blog event is all about book discrimination. We want the bookish community to be as welcoming as possible, so we encourage reading more books and we promote diversity in literature.

This is pretty tough for the first post of my blog event, but I decided to go for this because this is exactly what my blog event is for.

Yes, I have read parts of the social serye involved, and yes, I liked it.

Yes, I think it would have been better if it stayed online, but no, I am not mad nor disappointed that it got printed and that it’s out in bookstores now.

I was just surprised, that’s it. I don’t feel anything against it simply because I know how it feels to want a physical copy of a story I love so much. The social serye became so popular because a lot of people were reading it and they like what they’re reading. So when the hate posts and violent reactions came into the picture, I felt uncomfortable.

It may be trash to you but to others it’s not. Besides, no matter how lame a work may be to you, someone put in their time and (hopefully) best effort in making that. I’m sure if anyone did those things after you worked hard on something you’d feel really bad.
-Ren Mayari

I write stuff, too. I’ve received criticisms on my work, and while the ones I’ve received (so far) are constructive, I wouldn’t want to imagine how it would feel like to hear that my work is trash. What more with seeing posts about destroying copies of my work in bookstores? So maybe this is why I felt uncomfortable. I try to picture myself in the situation and I can honestly say I’m not ready for that yet.

This led me to thinking about the future, and I told myself that I want to be prepared. Not everybody will like what I write, and I want to be strong so I can face different kinds of opinions. This became an eye-opener to me. No one is immune to what everybody has to say.

Setting aside my writing career and going back to the matter, I definitely agree with Ren Mayari:

Continue supporting the really good ones, especially our local creators. Recommend them to friends and other people. Don’t go destroying other people’s work. You can always choose not to buy them and not support them. Blog, share, tweet about the good books you’ve read. Raise people’s awareness with regards to better literature. Show them that there are better options.

Promote what you love instead of bashing what you hate. (I think I’ve read this somewhere, but I’m not sure where – I’m just putting this little disclaimer so there won’t be any issue.)

Remember the hashtag of my blog event?

#StopJudgingStartReading

Philippine literature (or literature in general) is not dying. The fact that people are fighting for it means that there’s something to fight for. It will stay alive as long as writers keep writing and readers keep reading. So let’s help each other. Let’s improve and be better as a community. We’re all part of one big family, anyway. ❤


I don’t have anything against anyone, and I respect everyone’s thoughts about this. Thank you for reading, and welcome to my blog event! 🙂

Signature II

One thought on “Stay Alive

What do you think?

