Firefight by Brandon Sanderson


FirefightFirefight by Brandon Sanderson

Publication Date: January 6, 2015 by Delacorte Press

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

They told David it was impossible—that even the Reckoners had never killed a High Epic. Yet, Steelheart—invincible, immortal, unconquerable—is dead. And he died by David’s hand.

Eliminating Steelheart was supposed to make life more simple. Instead, it only made David realize he has questions. Big ones. And there’s no one in Newcago who can give him the answers he needs.

Babylon Restored, the old borough of Manhattan, has possibilities, though. Ruled by the mysterious High Epic, Regalia, David is sure Babylon Restored will lead him to what he needs to find. And while entering another city oppressed by a High Epic despot is a gamble, David’s willing to risk it. Because killing Steelheart left a hole in David’s heart. A hole where his thirst for vengeance once lived. Somehow, he filled that hole with another Epic—Firefight. And he’s willing to go on a quest darker, and more dangerous even, than the fight against Steelheart to find her, and to get his answers.


My thoughts:

I’ve read Steelheart in 2014, and I am really grateful to have the chance to finally read both Firefight and Calamity.

I’ll be writing my review for Calamity shortly after writing this one, so be sure to check that out, too. I JUST LOVE THIS SERIES SO MUCH SO BEFORE I THIS TURNS INTO A SCREAMING REVIEW, LET ME UNLOAD THE FEELS.

Now.

FIREFIGHT IS FULL OF HEARTS AND MY FANGIRL FEELS BECAUSE DAVID AND MEGAN ARE ❤ ❤ ❤

I think this is the book that highlighted the relationship between David and Megan. This is the romantic one among the three books. I stayed up late for this one (and Calamity, too, actually) just because I can’t stop reading and I WANT MORE DAVID + MEGAN. ❤

As cheesy as it may sound, Firefight is, somehow, about the power of love. I want to tell you more about it, but I wouldn’t want to ruin your experience. ❤

MORE EPICS WITH SUPER COOL POWERS (and weaknesses, too)

Regalia, Newton, Dawnslight, and a little encounter with Calamity. I really enjoy guessing weaknesses and trying to figure out the key to finding weaknesses. David had a pretty solid hypothesis about it by the end of the book because of Megan and the power of love. ❤ (I REALLY LOVE IT WHEN THAT GETS MENTIONED!)

SURPRISES

Surprises that will get you excited, surprises that will confuse you, and surprises that will break your heart. All in one book.

Firefight is my favorite in the Reckoners series! ❤

Blame the power of love and the hopeless romantic in me.

Firefight went beyond my expectations. In fact, I got more fascinated with Epic abilities. And the surprises…the revelations…the turn of events – one moment I feel tears forming in my eyes then I find myself smiling because THANK GOD I was wrong along with the characters. I’m just as shocked as they are, and as relieved as they are, after realizing that things are okay.

For now.

This is a book worth losing sleep for. It’s forbidden love in the midst of war and I’ve never read a book with so much action and romance perfectly tied together. My deep feelings for this book can’t be expressed without spoilers, so when you finish it, talk to me. You might want to bring coffee because it’s gonna be a loooong exchange of thoughts accompanied by lots of hearts and exclamation points.


Mileventwelve’s Bookish Song for Firefight:

Clarity by Zedd (feat. Foxes)

“If our love is tragedy, why are you my remedy?”

This is totally Megan’s song for David. SHE TRIED AND TRIED TO PUSH HIM AWAY BUT HE DIDN’T GO AND IT TURNED OUT THAT THE POWER OF LOVE IS THE KEY. (In a way, because, *spoiler*, so just read it. #FEELS)


Drop the rating system. Infinity symbol for this one. 

Signature II

2 thoughts on “Firefight by Brandon Sanderson

What do you think?

