All the Feels by Danika Stone


All the FeelsAll the Feels by Danika Stone

Publication Date: June 7, 2016 by Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher and Edelweiss for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

College freshman Liv is more than just a fangirl: The Starveil movies are her life…and her last tangible connection to her deceased father. Thus, when her favorite character, Captain Matt Spartan, is killed off at the end of the last movie, Liv Just. Can’t. Deal.

Tired of sitting in her room sobbing, Liv decides to launch an online campaign to bring her beloved hero back to life. With the help of her best friend, Xander, actor and steampunk cosplayer extraordinare, she creates #SpartanSurvived, a call that ignites the fandom. But as her online life succeeds beyond her wildest dreams, Liv is forced to balance that with the pressures of school, her (mostly nonexistent and entirely traumatic) romantic life, and her disapproving mother’s new boyfriend. A trip to DragonCon with Xander might be exactly what she needs to get away from it all… and figure out what (and who!) she really wants.


My thoughts:

FIRST OF ALL, HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY TO ALL THE FEELS!

The cover and the title are already packed with Fandom (yes, capital F) feels. But when I saw the chapter titles, I just had to start reading even if I was supposed to read another book before this one. I mean, who wouldn’t want to read a book with “MY PRECIOUS!” from The Lord of the Rings as a chapter title? 🙂

I love the tweets and the messages. They made the story more realistic and spontaneous. I really felt the fangirl vibes!

[Please note that every time I say fangirl, I intend to include fanboys. It’s just seeing fangirl/fanboy every time I have to say it would look redundant and maybe a little annoying to some? So yeah, fangirl is a collective term here. Thanks!]

I think what I love the most in this book is the connection of the story itself to real-life fangirling. This is every fangirl’s story – and I’m not just talking about the flailing and squealing, but also the tough times and difficult moments of being a fangirl. This book understands THE STRUGGLE very well.

Fandom is not a waste of time. Liv said that, and I would say that over and over again because it’s true. We are real friends, even if we’re online friends for now. We’re a big family. And forgive me for quoting an ARC, it’s just one REALLY IMPORTANT LINE:

And just because you don’t understand it, doesn’t mean it isn’t true.

SEE? SEE? I know a lot of you can relate to this: most of us are misunderstood, especially with the things we really love doing.

I totally enjoyed reading about the DragonCon experience, because it made me think of (and look forward to) going to BEA someday. I wonder how it would feel like to actually meet all the bloggers that I only talk to online – because I’ve been to a bookish gathering for PH bookworms, AND IT’S SO AWESOME WHEN YOU RECOGNIZE SOMEONE EVEN IF YOU JUST SAW THEM FOR THE FIRST TIME (Hi, #BookwormsUnite peeps!) SO I’M REALLY HOPING TO ATTEND AN INTERNATIONAL EVENT ONE DAY. ❤

SHOUTOUT TO ALL OF MY BOOKISH FRIENDS ON TWITTER! I LOVE YOU AND THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING ME! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

And then there’s Xander – LIV’S SWOONWORTHY, EVER-SUPPORTIVE BEST FRIEND – he’s just so adorable because of his efforts for Liv. He’s very appreciative, even if he’s not really a fan of Starveil. My eyes just turn into hearts when I read about guys like that (see my SQUEALING review of Beginner’s Guide, featuring Nero Sison) because love is a two-way street, and the least you can do is try to support the one you love with their passion.

All the Feels is the book for everyone who belongs in at least one fandom. Danika wrote a book that tells OUR STORY, she wrote a book that reflects OUR FEELINGS. WE’RE ALL IN THIS TOGETHER. And if I only had co-singers, I’ll definitely sing that song from HSM as the bookish song for this book.

I originally calculated my rating for this book and it says 4.5/5, but because of ALL THE FEELS (yeah, I’m using that as a pun because why not), I’ll drop the rating system for now and give this book five stars.

Also, five virtual hugs to Danika for bringing out the fangirl in her and sharing her story with the world. ❤


Final Rating: 5/5

All the feels for ALL THE FEELS! ❤

Signature II

2 thoughts on “All the Feels by Danika Stone

What do you think?

