Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions by Six de los Reyes


Beginner's GuideBeginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions by Six delos Reyes

Publication Date: April 17, 2016

Genre: New Adult Romance

*Click here for the Filipino version of this book review!*

Goodreads Summary:

Falling in love is a chemical reaction.

Just ask Kaya Rubio, twenty-five year-old Molecular Genetics graduate student and research assistant. Fed up with her spinster aunts’ relentless reminders and unsolicited advice regarding her Single Since Birth status, she designs a scientific, evidence-based methodology to find her a suitable partner in time for her cousin’s wedding. As any good scientist knows, any valid experimental design requires a negative control. Enter the most unsuitable candidate for a potential boyfriend: the messy, easygoing, café owner Nero Sison. Her null hypothesis? Going out with Nero would establish her baseline data without catalyzing the chemical reaction she seeks.

But when Kaya’s recorded results refuse to make sense, she is forced to come to the conclusion that there are some things in life that are simply, by nature, irrational and illogical. And that sometimes, chemistry doesn’t always happen inside a lab.


My thoughts:

I used to say I only read NA by either Mina V. Esguerra or Noelle August (with some exceptions for some titles by other authors) – because I used to be 17.

Turning 18 meant being open to more NA books, and I just have to say that my favorite NA authors have a new rival: Six delos Reyes. Or, maybe, let’s not put it that way. Let’s just say that Ate Six is running for the position. And with Beginner’s Guide, she’s currently leading.

Super short review for this book: It’s a STEM-themed (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) book. It’s almost a research paper to me, a science investigatory project – AND THAT’S WHY I LOVE IT SO MUCH. I haven’t read a book like this before. READ IT.

Want me to say more? (BECAUSE I HAVE A LOT TO SAY FOR THIS BOOK. And this is just the English version of my review – YES I HAVE A FILIPINO VERSION. AND YES, THE FILIPINO VERSION IS FILLED WITH SQUEALS)

You can thank Nero Sison and the In Lab for all the feels. I mean, my long review is basically just, CAN NERO BE REAL, PLEASE?

BECAUSE NERO.

Okay, let me calm down first.

Beginner’s Guide is about Kaya, studying her love life. She seriously conducted an experiment – The Boyfriend Experiment – and she really used the scientific method and it was super cool. SUPER COOL.

But our girl Kaya needs a negative control, so our guy Nero comes into the picture and then I can’t talk anymore because OMG I WOULD SPOIL YOU SO STOP ME NOOOOW.

It is given that I love this book because of Nero (and In Lab), but another thing that caught my attention is the author’s note that truly captured why this book became a book. Ate Six is a STEM person, and while reading her book, I could almost feel a fraction of her struggle. I could feel it. STEM people are just humans, and this book gave me a glimpse of what it’s like for them. I’ve appreciated them more because of this book, so I would like to cheer for all the STEM people out there – you guys rock. 😀

I don’t think I can fully express my love for this book in this review, but this is my attempt. I think I’ll do better in the Filipino version.

JUST READ THIS, OKAY?

FIVE STARS. FIVE STARS. FIVE STARS. FIVE STARS. FIVE STARS.


Final Rating: 5/5

Signature II

6 thoughts on “Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions by Six de los Reyes

What do you think?

