[Blog Tour] The Darkest Lie by Pintip Dunn


The Darkest Lie Blog Tour BannerThe Darkest LieThe Darkest Lie by Pintip Dunn

Publication Date: June 28, 2016 by Kensington Publishing

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Pintip for the ARC! I also received an e-ARC of the book for the blog tour hosted by Jen Halligan PR – thank you!]

Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Goodreads Summary:

“The mother I knew would never do those things.
But maybe I never knew her after all.”

Clothes, jokes, coded messages…Cecilia Brooks and her mom shared everything. At least, CeCe thought they did. Six months ago, her mom killed herself after accusations of having sex with a student, and CeCe’s been the subject of whispers and taunts ever since. Now, at the start of her high school senior year, between dealing with her grieving, distracted father, and the social nightmare that has become her life, CeCe just wants to fly under the radar. Instead, she’s volunteering at the school’s crisis hotline—the same place her mother worked.

As she counsels troubled strangers, CeCe’s lingering suspicions about her mom’s death surface. With the help of Sam, a new student and newspaper intern, she starts to piece together fragmented clues that point to a twisted secret at the heart of her community. Soon, finding the truth isn’t just a matter of restoring her mother’s reputation, it’s about saving lives—including CeCe’s own…


My thoughts:

First of all, I would like to apologize for missing my schedule for the blog tour. I’m on a vacation with my family and it slipped my mind because I was really having a great time. I’ve finished reading The Darkest Lie last May 23, and I must say that Pintip made me want to read more mystery novels.

I mostly read romance, but I try reading mystery books sometimes because I like the thrill of not knowing. I have read a few novels with mysterious/suspenseful themes, but The Darkest Lie is so far, my favorite.

It starts with the alleged suicide of Tabitha Brooks, CeCe’s mother. I’ve had initial theories about this first incident and as I read, I was torn between turning the next page to know more and staying where I am for a while just because things were getting creepy.

This is a contemporary novel, so I didn’t expect ghosts or anything paranormal. The scary thing about this story? It could happen in real life.

I love how Tabitha sent the secret messages to CeCe. I guessed and guessed with CeCe and Sam. But I never thought someone not in my list of suspects would actually be responsible for what happened.

I can’t give more details because it will totally ruin your reading experience (I mostly read it at night, soooo…) but I can say more things about Sam. ❤

He’s smart. He’s a real gentleman. He wants to be an investigative journalist to help people. I have a pretty swoonworthy mental picture of him and it gives me the feels. I like reading his scenes with Cece. And I trusted him right from the start.

I will leave you with that last sentence about Sam, though. What do I mean? Read the book to find out.

The Darkest Lie is about family, friendship, and trust. It’s also about lending a hand to those who need it, and fighting to do what is right. But most of all, it’s about the truth – and how taking every risk is worth it.


Final Rating: 4/5

Signature II


Giveaway! ❤

$25 Gift Card to Amazon OR Book Depository [INT]


Pintip DunnAbout the Author:

Pintip Dunn graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the YALE LAW JOURNAL. She also published an article in the YALE LAW JOURNAL, entitled, “How Judges Overrule: Speech Act Theory and the Doctrine of Stare Decisis,”

Pintip is represented by literary agent Beth Miller of Writers House. She is a 2012 RWA Golden Heart® finalist and a 2014 double-finalist. She is a member of Romance Writers of America, Washington Romance Writers, YARWA, and The Golden Network.

She lives with her husband and children in Maryland. You can learn more about Pintip and her books at http://www.pintipdunn.com

Website │ Facebook │ Twitter │ Instagram │ Goodreads

One thought on “[Blog Tour] The Darkest Lie by Pintip Dunn

What do you think?

