The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood


The Square Root of SummerThe Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

Publication Date: May 3, 2016 by Roaring Book Press

Genre: Young Adult Sci-Fi

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

This is what it means to love someone. This is what it means to grieve someone. It’s a little bit like a black hole. It’s a little bit like infinity.

Gottie H. Oppenheimer is losing time. Literally. When the fabric of the universe around her seaside town begins to fray, she’s hurtled through wormholes to her past:

To last summer, when her grandfather Grey died. To the afternoon she fell in love with Jason, who wouldn’t even hold her hand at the funeral. To the day her best friend Thomas moved away and left her behind with a scar on her hand and a black hole in her memory.

Although Grey is still gone, Jason and Thomas are back, and Gottie’s past, present, and future are about to collide—and someone’s heart is about to be broken.

With time travel, quantum physics, and sweeping romance, The Square Root of Summer is an exponentially enthralling story about love, loss, and trying to figure it all out, from stunning debut YA voice, Harriet Reuter Hapgood.


My thoughts:

I’ve been wanting to read this book since the day I downloaded an e-ARC from Edelweiss. Checking the Downloads tab, that day was December 9, 2015 – almost five months ago.

Because of my tight schedule, I only got the chance to read the book last Saturday. I don’t regret reading this even in the middle of my hiatus. This book is amazing.

First: time travel! I really love how the novel was backed up by science – I’m not a science person but I am really fascinated with quantum physics. This book made me even more curious about it. (Plus: Interstellar feels!)

Second: romance! Gottie is involved with two guys here, Jason and Thomas. I loved reading about her memories with them and how those memories led to a choice. What will her heart do?

Third: wonder. ❤️ The book left me wondering – is time travel really possible with quantum physics? What really makes the impossible happen? Reading the book felt like living in a world where fantasy and reality collide, and I love that.

Another thing about this book that captured my heart is self-forgiveness. Gottie is coping with different kinds of loss. There were even some parts of the book when I felt that Gottie is slowly losing herself. Acceptance of one’s faults followed immediately by self-forgiveness is very important in keeping yourself together.

Love (different forms of it) fought the grief within Gottie’s and led her heart to where its home.

I can’t really share quotes because this is an ARC review, but I believe I can tell you that the best part of the book is the secret of perpetual motion.

I’ll remember that forever. ❤

The Square Root of Summer is a book that refused to settle with what’s already known. It took me to a journey where anything can happen. We will always be challenged in many ways, but we just have to keep moving.

If TIME TRAVEL + ROMANCE = FEELS sounds like an appealing equation to you, then you might want to read this book. (Also, Interstellar fans could probably relate!)


Final Rating: 5/5

Maybe infinity just means there’s always something to look forward to.

Signature II

What do you think?

