[Blog Tour] No Love Allowed by Kate Evangelista


No Love AllowedNo Love Allowed by Kate Evangelista

Publication Date: April 19, 2016 by Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult Romance

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

It’s all fun and parties until someone falls in love in this modern fairy tale from author Kate Evangelista.

Caleb desperately needs a fake girlfriend. Either he attends a series of parties for his father’s law firm with a pretty girl on his arm, or he gets shipped off to Yale to start a future he’s not ready for and isn’t sure he wants. And sadly, the last unattached girl in his social circle has just made the grievous mistake of falling in love with him. Fortunately, Didi, recently fired waitress and aspiring painter, is open to new experiences. As the summer ticks by in a whirl of lavish parties, there’s only one rule: They must not fall in love!


My thoughts:

I consider myself very lucky to have read this story even before it was selected by Swoon Reads. I really loved Warning! You Might Fall in Love With Me and I had a strong feeling it would be chosen, so when the third list was announced, I was so happy a fellow Filipina made it. ❤

I felt the feels in Warning. The swoony feels. The pretty parts of the story. I didn’t realize right away what was really happening until it was right in front of me: mental illness.

I have this struggle with books about mental illness. I wasn’t sure of how I felt with All the Bright Places. I just know that the story matters to me.

It’s so difficult to express how I really feel and why I gave the book five stars. I just know.

I just know.

With No Love Allowed, the reading experience was different. Because the feels from Warning were still there – but this time, I had a clearer picture of the underlying theme in this romance story.

No Love Allowed is like a beautifully wrapped present – with the love story as the pretty packaging and mental illness as the precious gift inside. Pretty packaging matters – it’s what excites you. It’s what makes you feel giddy and it makes you look forward to what’s really inside. Ms. Kate handled the gem carefully. Mental illness is usually misunderstood. Even I don’t have enough knowledge about it. But reading books like this helps me see the world in a different way. Reading books like this allow my thoughts to relate to those of the characters.

I don’t remember the heart rating I gave back when this book was still a Swoon Reads manuscript, but that’s okay.

Thank you for the sweet ride to a wider understanding, Ms. Kate. Allow me to give you a virtual congratulatory hug. ❤


Final Rating: 5/5

Love refuses to be defined by rules.

Signature II

2 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] No Love Allowed by Kate Evangelista

What do you think?

