[Blog Tour] Blast From Two Pasts by Kristel Villar


Blast From Two PastsBlast From Two Pasts by Kristel Villar

Publication Date: April 1, 2014

Genre: Romance

[Review copy provided for the blog tour, thanks to Bibliophiles Unplugged and Ms. Kristel!]

*Click here for the Filipino version of this book review!*

Goodreads Summary:

Fate’s been playing tricks on Cara Nicolas lately. She agrees to go on a blind date with her best friend’s fiancé’s cousin, only to discover that the guy is her first love from high school, Lucas Lobregat. Now that would have been a charming story, except that the date turns out to be one of the worst ever. And they can’t even pretend it never happened, because they’re both suddenly part of the wedding preparations.

Just as she is starting to get to know more about the boy she used to love, Oliver Sta. Maria, an old flame who owes her some closure, surprisingly shows up. With two pasts resurfacing, which will Cara choose to rekindle? Or can she have the chance to choose at all?


My thoughts:

When I first saw the paperback copy of Blast From Two Pasts (Ms. Mina was holding it during the #buqoYA face-to-face class), I was really attracted. My eyes were glued to the book cover – and I almost wished Ms. Mina would give away copies.

I’m glad I had the chance to join a blog tour for the book. I needed a quick read, but I got something more than that.

First, what’s with all the book boyfriends named Lucas? Is Lucas such a book boyfriend-ish name? I guess so – because whenever I see a “Lucas” on the pages of a book, the mental image that the name paints on my mind is someone really swoonworthy. ❤

I didn’t really like Oliver, but without him, the story wouldn’t be as thrilling. It’s as if he was the force that made the rollercoaster ride more enjoyable than I initially expected.

Lloyd and Ayen are friends every girl would be lucky to have. They’re the kind of people who would push you out of your comfort zone. They will laugh with you, cry with you, and swoon with you when the right guy comes into the picture.

And Cara. I could relate to her character so much. I know how it feels to have that need for closure. I also know how it feels to be stuck in a fantasy from the past with the potential to become a reality.

I love, love, love how Ms. Kristel ended the story – I somehow knew that would happen, but it made me smile anyway. Reading Blast From Two Pasts was like twirling around a room with your eyes closed as confetti falls from above.

B-L-A-S-T = S-W-O-O-N = ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤


Final Rating: 5/5

Signature II

2 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] Blast From Two Pasts by Kristel Villar

What do you think?

