After You by Jojo Moyes


After YouAfter You by Jojo Moyes

Publication Date: September 29, 2015 by Pamela Dorman Books/Viking

Genre: Romance

Goodreads Summary:

***THE SEQUEL TO THE WORLDWIDE PHENOMENON ME BEFORE YOU ***

Jojo Moyes says: “I hadn’t planned to write a sequel to Me Before You. But working on the movie script, and reading the sheer volume of tweets and emails every day asking what Lou did with her life, meant that the characters never left me. It has been such a pleasure revisiting Lou and her family, and the Traynors, and confronting them with a whole new set of issues. As ever, they have made me laugh, and cry. I hope readers feel the same way at meeting them again.”


My thoughts:

A year after reading about Will’s death, I’m still not over it.
I still can’t accept that he’s actually gone. But this book is the solid proof that Will is dead. Because Lou has to move on and let him go.

An accident led Lou to Will. An accident led her to Sam.

I totally approve of Sam. I like him.

But Sam is not the star in this story. Lily is.

I did not see her coming. I never expected a character like her would show up.

Lily was being haunted by a mistake and Lou shared her experience to help Lily face the problem. I like how their friendship blossomed and I love reading about the things they’ve learned from one another.

I love the Moving On Circle. Support groups are awesome. 🙂

While I never felt that Me Before You needed a sequel, I’m glad Jojo Moyes wrote After You. It was nice to see Lou again, and to watch her heal.

We experience a lot of epilogues in life because new stories await. And After You is just one of the new stories in Lou’s life. I’m happy for her. As she let go of the balloon, pain went away with it. Maybe not entirely, but enough to let her heart be filled with new memories brought by love.


Quote love! ❤

You learn to live with it, with them. Because they do stay with you, even if they’re not living, breathing people anymore. It’s not the same crushing grief you felt at first, the kind that swaps you and makes you want to cry in the wrong places and get irrationally angry with all the idiots who are still alive when the person you love is dead.
-Sam

This was Sam’s answer when Lou asked him about how long it takes to get over someone’s death. First he said that you never really get over it, then this brilliant speech.

I mean, I’m not one of those people who has a massive circle of friends…and then there was Bill. We just used to talk all the time…I never worried about whether I was going to say the wrong thing…because he just ‘got’ me, you know?
-Lou

Lou and I are alike. Which may or may not mean that I had a ‘Bill’ in my life. Super relatable quote.

I have huge admiration for you picking yourself up and moving on. Sometimes just getting through each day requires almost superhuman strength.
-Marc

This is one of the most encouraging lines I’ve ever read. Thank you for this. 🙂

Sometimes you just needed someone to say something as simple as No. It wasn’t your fault. It really wasn’t your fault.
-Lou

THIS. This is on point. ‘Nuff said.

Lou, I don’t know what will happen. Nobody ever does. You can set out one morning and step in front of a motorbike and your whole life can change. You can go to work on a routine job and get shot by a teenager who thinks that’s what it takes to be a man…that’s life. We don’t know what will happen. Which is why we have to take our chances while we can.
-Sam

Sam, you’re making me swoon. Please stop. ❤ ❤ ❤

And what we learn through sharing our memories and our sadness and our little victories with one another is that it’s okay to be sad. Or lost. Or angry. It’s okay to feel a whole host of things that other people might not understand, and often for a long time. Everyone has his or her own journey. We don’t judge.
-Jake

It’s okay. Two words that comfort the most troubled of hearts.

Favorite quote:

I let mine go.
-Lou

This line is the whole point of the book. I just love it so much. ❤


Final Rating: 5/5

Most of the time, endings mean new beginnings.

Signature II

2 thoughts on “After You by Jojo Moyes

  1. oHMYGHOD I spoiled myself T_T Well, not really. I’vejsut been hearing stuff about Will’s death but I never really let anyone confirm it. I didn’t ask anyone what Me Before You is about. I feel like punching myself now. I wasn’t careful. Also, I love Marc’s and Jake’s quote. sooo right. Also, can I just point out that one character is named Sam and Sam Claflin portrayed Will (right?) in the movie. Okay, I’m not sure what I’m trying to get through this or what connection I’m saying…

What do you think?

