Looking Back, Moving Forward v.2


Before I actually start this (late) post, let me explain myself.

I got sick since January 1 and I only recovered a few days ago, so I wasn’t really able to prepare a blog post to welcome 2016.

Because I’m (kinda) in a blogging slump (ish), I read my post last year just to have an outline of some sort for this post.

Last year, this post from Ate Dianne (from Oops! I Read a Book Again) inspired my new year post.

This year, this post from Ashley (from Nosegraze) became my eye-opener.

Do you know what makes me legitimately sad?

When I see bloggers doing things they clearly don’t want to be doing.

  • I see bloggers getting OVERWHELMED.
  • I see bloggers stressed out about all the reviews they “have” to write but haven’t written yet.
  • I see bloggers talking about how they’re so behind on their “ARC schedule” but don’t feel like reading those books and they’re upset because they don’t know what to do.
  • I see bloggers saying they really want to read that March 2016 ARC but haven’t finished all their December 2015 ARCs yet, so they can’t.

-Ashley from Nosegraze

I guess one big factor is the perfectionist in me. I hate being out of schedule for anything. But life always happens and a lot of unexpected things tend to mess up my super perfect schedule most of the time.

So yeah. Sorry for making you sad, Ashley.

The good thing that came out of my book blogging stress is that I’m not stressed anymore. THANKS A LOT, ASHLEY. ❤

I’m gonna start with my bookish awards!

Bibliophile Soprano’s Bookish Awards 2015

Book Boyfriend of the Year: Kian Riley from Public Enemies by Ann Aguirre

YA Book of the Year: Public Enemies by Ann Aguirre

NA Book of the Year: Bounce by Noelle August

Contemporary Book of the Year: Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

Fantasy Book of the Year: Love Fortunes and Other Disasters by Kimberly Karalius

Paranormal Book of the Year: Public Enemies by Ann Aguirre

Book of the Year: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

2015 Highlights

Book Mail

2015 is the year when I first received physical review copies from different publishers. It’s a huge milestone for me as a book blogger. 🙂

#BookwormsUnite

I wasn’t able to attend any book signing event last year, but at least my sister and I made it to Bookworms Unite! I’ve also written a recap post for this one, and I hope it can happen again this year! ❤

Bookish Friends

With Ate Mermaid
One picture. A thousand words.

Some people know the story, some people don’t, but I’ll always be thankful that things got sorted out and we’re closer than ever. (‘Love you, Ate Mermaid! <3)

I was also able to let go of my insecurities with some blogger friends. I’ve sent them messages, and while some of them responded warmly and really appreciated my honesty, there were some who probably don’t like me anymore, and I guess that’s inevitable.

I talked about a lot of things going on inside my head in this post. I’ve learned a lot since then, and I’m grateful. 🙂

Pinoy Book Freaks United 🙂

Thanks to Ate Mermaid, I was able to join this awesome community of bookworms. 🙂 I’m not as active as the other members yet, because I’m still trying to observe, but I try to be involved because I finally found a community where I belong, where at least one person can understand how I feel about books. ❤

Achieved 2015 Goals

Meet Ms. Mina V. Esguerra

I had a major fangirling moment last January 24, 2015 when I (finally) met Ms. Mina – and before this post turns into a 10-page essay, I’ll just leave the link to my recap of that day. ❤

Have a successful blog event in July

The Book Discrimination Awareness Month has a hashtag now! #StopJudgingStartReading was inspired by Ate Mariane (from Fictionalien) and this is my recap post for the blog event that ended with a massive giveaway. 🙂

Fix my Goodreads account

My Goodreads account is not as messy as before. It’s a bit outdated because of my hiatus, but I’ll update it very soon!

2016 Bookish Goals

  • Meet Ms. Kate Evangelista: Ms. Kate is the first Filipina chosen by Swoon Reads. No Love Allowed is out on April 19, and I’m so excited to hug a finished copy! I want to meet Ms. Kate this year because I want to hug her, too. ❤
  • Go to at least one book signing event: I’m 18 now, and I hope Mom will allow me to go to book signing events!
  • Attend the Manila International Book Fair: I always miss this event, and I want to go this year! I’ll be saving for MIBF and fingers are crossed I can finally attend!
  • Have another successful blog event in July: Watch out for this year’s Book Discrimination Awareness Month! 🙂
  • Host a blog event to support Filipino authors: Ms. Mina’s writing classes led to a lot of opportunities for Filipino authors, and I was one of those. I’ll probably do this in August, so let me know if you have similar plans! I want to help spreading the word. (You can, too!)

Shoutout to bookish friends!

Ate Dianne of Oops! I Read a Book Again and Ate Sab of Sab the Book Eater: Thank you, for making me realize a lot of things that made me a better blogger (and a better person) – you two are awesome. ❤

Ate Eriele of This is Not Your Book Blog: What else do I need to say? This is just a shoutout, haha. 😀 See you in bookish events, Ate Mermaid. Maybe I’ll cry with you once I finish reading Away We Go.

Jasmine of Jasmine Pearl Reads: Ah, Jasmine. The book mail lord. One of the newest bloggers with the greatest progress. I’ll always remember your birthday. 🙂 Thanks again for The Lies About Truth! 🙂

Kuya JM of Book Freak Revelations: I’ll never forget that I once became a blogger superstar. 😀

Ate Jhed of When Books Defy Gravity: Thank you for all the blogging tips and suggestions! And most especially, for all the help in meeting new book fairies. ❤

Ate Michelle of The Escapist: I know you have stopped blogging, but I’ll always miss you, Ate Michelle. I owe you a lot.

Ate Salve of Cuckoo for Books: Remember the seat belt talk with Six of Crows? Be a good book mommy! ❤


Here’s to a year filled with pages and pages of new adventures. Happy 2016! ❤

Signature II

P.S. My first giveaway of the year is now up!
Join the Twitter giveaway for Subway Love by Nora Raleigh Baskin!
12 thoughts on “Looking Back, Moving Forward v.2

  1. Hi Fay! I don’t think this is my first time here, but this is most probably my first time to comment. Haha. I’m happy for you — for accomplishing lots of things in 2015.

    I missed the 2015 MIBF so I’m also making sure to attend this year’s. It was a fun event for readers like us so I hope you’ll be able to attend it too. Good luck on you 2016 bookish goals! 🙂

  2. The people you mentioned sounds so awesome, I feel like I want to meet them too. I also (kinda) have the same goals as you this year but I’m not sure if I’ll be able to have them checked out. 😦

What do you think?

