This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith


TIWHLLThis is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

Publication Date: December 24, 2013 by Poppy

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Goodreads Summary:

If fate sent you an email, would you answer?

When teenage movie star Graham Larkin accidentally sends small town girl Ellie O’Neill an email about his pet pig, the two seventeen-year-olds strike up a witty and unforgettable correspondence, discussing everything under the sun, except for their names or backgrounds.

Then Graham finds out that Ellie’s Maine hometown is the perfect location for his latest film, and he decides to take their relationship from online to in-person. But can a star as famous as Graham really start a relationship with an ordinary girl like Ellie? And why does Ellie want to avoid the media’s spotlight at all costs?


Let me start by telling you that I’ve finished reading this book a long time ago. Long as in last year (ish) – that long.

I’ve never had the chance to write a review because I’ve been overwhelmed with the reviews I had to write back then. And because I don’t owe anyone a review of this book (I bought it), I didn’t prioritize it.

That’s kinda sad…but I had to do it. 😦

Now that I (kinda) have time to spare, I decided to write this review because 1) this is a really good book, and 2) you should totally read it. 🙂

My thoughts:

This book was a light read because of the emails. The chapters weren’t too long or too short, and I just read the book…I don’t remember struggling to finish it.

It’s crazy how an email can lead you to someone you’ll fall in love with. It was an accident, but it happened for a purpose nobody had seen coming.

I am totally swooning over Graham – Ellie’s so lucky to have met him! But just like what Graham said, he likes her because she likes him as plain Graham. Not the movie star Graham. Ellie likes Graham. Just Graham. FEELS! ❤

Ellie and Graham talked about “what happy looks like” and I love those emails! Welcome surprises, meeting new people, the change of seasons…I couldn’t help but smile upon reading what they think. I kept on marking those with my sticky flags. 🙂

When Ellie’s secret was revealed, a sudden shift occurred. I was shocked and curious – I had to know more. And I think the adrenaline brought by intense curiosity sped up my reading.

Because of Ellie’s secret, I had a glimpse of what it’s like to be in a situation like hers. I love Graham for keeping an open mind, for accepting Ellie and for helping her. Not everyone does that.

This is What Happy Looks Like tells us that happiness is out there – it doesn’t have to be defined, to be confined in a place, or a person. Happiness is out there – and we don’t even have to look for it. Most of the time, we just need to open our eyes. 🙂

Quote love! ❤

It was like the simplest of Math problems; the answer was right there in front of her, but even so, a part of her was still having trouble believing it.

This is soooo true! I love this analogy because I, too, feel this way about Math. If the problem was easy-to-solve, my answer was probably wrong.

I like how Jen related Ellie’s situation with Math. It makes perfect sense.

How are you supposed to find what you’re looking for if you’re not convinced it’s even out there?

-Graham

One word: BELIEVE. ❤

There are different kinds of happy. Some kinds don’t need any proof.

-Ellie

I second this. I even third this. 🙂

In the end, what she’d been searching for was simply this: home.

I do believe in what they say, that home is where the heart is. ❤

Even in that diner, there must have been a sense of possibility. You just had to know where to look.

Possibilities are always there. We never run out of possibilities. That’s what I think.

Favorite quote:

She could only hope that in a place filled with so many wonders, it would have still been possible to appreciate something as remarkable and ordinary as all this.

To see something ordinary as remarkable requires a big heart. This quote is so beautiful. This quote makes the simple things matter. ❤


Final Rating: 5/5

Don’t question what makes you happy.

Signature II

6 thoughts on “This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. Okay. Maybe I should stop deciding whether I should read a book or not by basing it on only one review. Your review is different with that of my friend who told me that she didn’t like it, thus, making me not interested in it anymore. But you gave it a 5/5 rating! Maybe I should give this book a chance after all 🙂

  2. I started reading this book last week but ended up not continuing it because it’s not keeping my attention. Maybe I’m just not in the mood to read contemporaries so I’m putting it on hold for now. But their email convo were really entertaining to read.

What do you think?

