Subway Love by Nora Raleigh Baskin


Subway LoveSubway Love by Nora Raleigh Baskin

Publication Date: June 4, 2015 by Walker Books

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

[Special thanks to Walker Books UK for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

What if destiny leads you to your soul mate, but the laws of time conspire to keep you apart?

If her parents had never divorced, Laura wouldn’t have to live in the shadow of Bruce, her mom’s unpredictable boyfriend. Her mom wouldn’t say things like “Be groovy,” and Laura wouldn’t panic every weekend on the way to Dad’s Manhattan apartment. But when Laura spots a boy on a facing platform, lifting a camera to his face, looking right at her, Laura feels anything but afraid, and she can’t forget him. Jonas, meanwhile, thinks nonstop about the pretty hippie girl he glimpsed on the platform — trying to comprehend how she vanished, but mostly wondering whether he will see her again in a city of millions — and whether if he searches, he would have any chance of finding her. In a lyrical meditation on love, Nora Raleigh Baskin explores the soul’s ability to connect, and heal, outside the bounds of time and reason.


My thoughts:

 When I read the summary of Subway Love, a movie came to mind.

The Lake House, starring Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves. I loved that movie so much – so much that I ended up being disappointed with Subway Love.

Well, not entirely disappointed. Just a little. It’s not the book’s fault. It’s mine. I expected too much, thinking that Subway Love will be as good as (if not better than) The Lake House.

I guess one factor is that it’s short. I think everything happened so quickly, and the ending felt abrupt.

I’m not really used to writing reviews like this. But I have to write this review – because these are my honest thoughts, and this is not really a negative review. Because Subway Love was good. Maybe I just found the right book at the wrong time – because had I read this book before I watched The Lake House, I would have felt differently.

One quote that stood out from Subway Love is this:

Know how to live with the time that is given you.

-Max

Subway Love presents a love forbidden by time. It tells us how living in the moment is very important. It’s for everyone who believe in soul mates, and destined love. A book for the hopeless romantic.

Though I wish I read it at a different time, I still think it’s worth the read. I hope you can give it a chance. 🙂


Final Rating: 3.5/5

 Time is just a number.Signature II

What do you think?

