The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson


The Sky is EverywhereThe Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Publication Date: February 5, 2015 by Walker Books

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Walker Books UK for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

For fans of John Green, David Levithan and Rainbow Rowell: a beautiful, funny and heartfelt novel about love and forgiveness. Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to centre stage of her own life – and suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two boys. One boy takes Lennie out of her sorrow; the other comforts her in it. But the two can’t collide without Lennie’s world exploding…


My thoughts:

What I love the most about The Sky is Everywhere are the poems written on random stuff, scattered by Lennie at random places, at random times. I may have overused the word random there, but that’s just how it is. 🙂

Let me use some parts of my original notes for this book, as they capture how I felt while reading this book almost three months ago.

First Quarter:

Toby and Lennie. Who is Joe? Complex things I have yet to comprehend. But I love, love, love the poems and I’m inspired to do the same thing.

In here we see how I am slowly discovering the magic of this book. The poems (again), are really beautiful. ❤

Second Quarter:

It’s okay…I can keep on reading as long as there are quotes. And swoony scenes.

The second quarter was not as good as the first one, but I had to keep reading.

Third Quarter:

Joe jumped to conclusions. Chaos. Secrets starting to be revealed. I want more.

Thrill for the third quarter! That revelation really shocked me, and the suspense that this quarter holds made me want to finish reading right away – I need answers!

Fourth Quarter:

OMG

I AM SMILING

I LOVE JOE

This is probably one of the craziest notes I’ve ever written because it’s just like that – I just left a little detail out because I wouldn’t want to spoil you. 😉

The Sky is Everywhere tells us that our dreams are not as far as we think. Grief is powerful, but instead of bringing us down, we can use it to be better people.

This book is for people with dreams – for everyone.

Don’t give up.

Quote love! ❤

I wonder why bereaved people even bother with mourning clothes when grief itself provides such an unmistakable wardrobe.
-Lennie

There’s so much emotion in this line that I can’t help but share it with you guys.

I am crazy sad and, somewhere deep inside, all I want is to fly.
-Lennie

Sums up how I used to feel.

But what if music is what escapes when a heart breaks?
-Lennie

I believe that our passions burn brighter when we’re at our worst. Because music, art, and words…our dreams are what we wish to be best at.

Dreams change.
-Big

Tangled, anyone?

But there’s not just one truth, Lennie, there never is.
-Gram

I can totally relate to this quote because I’ve been in situations where different versions of the truth come from different people.

Grief is forever. It doesn’t go away; it becomes part of you, step for step, breath for breath.
-Lennie

I think that anyone who has lost a loved one knows that this is true. We just have to live with it, as they say.

Love is stronger than anything, even death.
-Bailey

This is an AWWWW quote because it came from Bailey. Lennie was the one who wrote it, though.

It’s such a colossal effort not to be haunted by what’s lost, but to be enchanted by what was.
-Lennie

It’s like the popular saying, don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.

Favorite quote:

There are two quotes below, but they say pretty much the same thing.

You can tell your story any way you damn well please. It’s your solo.
-Lennie

In here, it seems like Lennie is giving advice.

It’s my story, after all, and this is how I choose to tell it.
-Lennie

And it’s in here that we see Lennie living up to what she said. ❤


Initial Rating: 4.5/5

Bonuses: 0.625

Demerits: None


Final Rating: 5.13/5

Own your story.

Signature II

2 thoughts on “The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

What do you think?

