The Next Together by Lauren James


The Next TogetherThe Next Together by Lauren James

Publication Date: September 3, 2015 by Walker

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

[Special thanks to Walker Books UK for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

How many times can you lose the person you love?

Katherine and Matthew are destined to be born again and again, century after century. Each time, their presence changes history for the better, and each time, they fall hopelessly in love, only to be tragically separated.

Spanning the Crimean War, the Siege of Carlisle and the near-future of 2019 and 2039 they find themselves sacrificing their lives to save the world. But why do they keep coming back? What else must they achieve before they can be left to live and love in peace?

Maybe the next together will be different…

A powerful and epic debut novel for teenagers about time-travel, fate and the timelessness of first love. The Next Together is told through a mixture of regular prose, diary entries, letters, “original” historical documents, news reports and internet articles.


My thoughts:

The tagline nailed it. How many times can you lose the one you love most?

I love stories about time travel, and The Next Together is one of the most unique stories I’ve read this year.

It’s sad that I can’t share quotes – my review copy is an ARC. I do hope you’ll see how much I enjoyed reading this book even without the quotes. 🙂

The Next Together presents four timelines of Katherine and Matthew – 1745, 1854, 2019, and 2039. At first, it was very puzzling. How did that happen? Why did that happen? It really intrigued me. I had to read more, and more, and more.

As the story progressed, I was able to catch up with its flow. I became less and less confused. I realized that the little details at the end of each part were significant. And I love the last pages!

My favorite timeline was the 2019 timeline. They were already married at that time, and they were so in love! Their notes to each other were cute and funny, and I probably like this timeline the most because it’s the closest to the present time.

I also like the 2039 timeline because it was so quirky!

I liked spotting the similarities and differences of each timeline, figuring out what makes a timeline unique, and what connects a timeline to the bigger picture.

I’ve read some reviews of this book from other bloggers, and this review from The Pretty Books mentioned that Lauren would like to call The Next Together a “reincarnation romance” rather than a time-travelling novel.

Time travel and historical fiction in one novel! Lauren James wrote four versions of the same love story, and that makes The Next Together your next read! 🙂


Initial Rating: 4.69/5

Bonuses: 0.25

Demerits: None


Final Rating: 4.94/5

If it’s true love, time won’t matter.
Signature II

2 thoughts on “The Next Together by Lauren James

What do you think?

