I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson


I'll Give You the SunI’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Publication Date: April 2, 2015 by Walker Books

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Walker Books UK for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

From the author of The Sky Is Every­where, a radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying – all at once. For fans of John Green, Gayle Forman and Lauren Oliver. Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close – until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don’t realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.


I haven’t written a book review for almost two months and it feels weird.

Taking into consideration that I read I’ll Give You the Sun last April-May, it’s a bit hard to finally write this book review.

*breathes in, breathes out*

Okaaaay. Here I go.

My thoughts:

Maybe I read this book at the wrong time (hell months at UP), because it took me so long to finish reading it.

I also struggled with how the book was divided into Jude and Noah’s alternating POVs. I feel like their chapters were too long, and as a reader who (mostly) reads by chapter, it was so difficult to take little breaks while reading.

I had to reread some parts to understand what’s really happening, and while I wasn’t able to completely grasp the entire story, I believe the parts that stuck with me are enough to say that this is worth the read.

One, it’s a story about family, and the secrets that families keep to themselves. Two, it has diverse characters who have very interesting personalities. Three, it features art, and shows us a glimpse of what it’s like to be an artist. The book gives us a chance to get inside artists’ heads – Jude’s, Noah’s, Guillermo’s…you get the point. And it was cool being with them throughout the book.

The book surprised me in many ways, and I hope you get to experience the same thing.

I’ll Give You the Sun is a story with the power to shine among others. It just takes the right eyes of a reader to see it.

Quote love! ❤

It’s never occurred to me that the stars are still up there shining even in the daytime when we can’t see them.
-Noah

I find this quote so beautiful because stars always mean hope, for me. And I love how Noah saw the stars.

A painting is both exactly the same and entirely different every single time you look at it.
-Noah

Because as the saying goes, the only constant thing in this world is change. So ironic, yet so true.

You have to see the miracles for there to be miracles.
-Grandma

This is a very touching quote about believing in the impossible.

A broken heart is an open heart.
-Grandma

When we are hurt, I believe one of our ways to heal ourselves is to let other people know we’re hurting. I believe it’s a human tendency to seek empathy from others.

Sometimes you think you know things, know things very deeply, only to realize you don’t know a damn thing.
-Dad

This is true. We can’t act like we know everything in this world, because we know less than we think we do.

Listen to me. It takes a lot of courage to be true to yourself, true to your heart. You always have been very brave that way and I pray you always will be.
-Dianna

This reminds me so much of Sara Beirelles’ song, Brave.

But what if I don’t need her permission, her approval, her praise to be who I want to be and do what I love? What if I’m in charge of my own damn light switch?
-Jude

THIS.

We are in control of our own lives.

The heart doesn’t listen to reason. It doesn’t abide by laws or conventions or other people’s expectations, either.

-Guillermo (as told by Jude)

As a self-proclaimed ‘heart person’ (a.k.a. someone who trusts her heart more than her head), I totally agree with this.

Favorite quote:

Who knows if destiny is just how you tell yourself the story of your life?
-Jude

ALL HEARTS FOR THIS QUOTE.

‘Nuff said. ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤


Final Rating: 4/5

Be brave for yourself.

Signature II

3 thoughts on “I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

What do you think?

