[Blog Tour] Just a Little Bit of Love by Ines Bautista-Yao


Just a Little Bit of LoveJust a Little Bit of Love by Ines Bautista-Yao

Publication Date: November 18, 2015

Genre: Romance

Click here to buy the book on Amazon!

Summary:

Three short stories about three young girls: Anita, Ina, and Carla. Each one finding their lives disrupted by a boy. Maybe it’s because he wanders into the coffee shop where she works after school every Tuesday. Maybe it’s because he won’t leave her alone even if she has made it clear that she is crushing on his football teammate. Or maybe it’s because she’s spent one unforgettable afternoon with him—despite being oh-so-forgetful. Three small doses of love that serve up a whole lot of feels.


First of all…I’M BAAAACK! ❤

I’m back from my month-long hiatus and it’s so great to start the month with a blog tour post for Just a Little Bit of Love.

Ms. Ines shares her writing playlist with us– see below!

[Guest Post] Just a Little Bit of Love Writing Playlist by Ines Bautista-Yao

This is unlike any playlist you’ll read on Fay’s blog, but if you’re a mom, you’ll most probably recognize the songs. While I was writing the stories of Just A Little Bit Of Love, the songs that kept playing in the background, in the car, and whenever my kids got hold of my phone were of course, their songs. So I chose five that I like and can actually be connected to my stories.

1. “Ready or Not” by Hi-5
Besides being my two-year-old’s favorite Hi-5 song (she calls it “Hide your Eyes”) because that’s how the song begins, this song is about playing Hide and Seek. It’s the perfect song for John because it says:

Hide your eyes and count to ten
Ready or not – I’m gonna find you again.
Hide your eyes and count to ten,
Ready or not – I’m gonna find you again,
And again and again and again.

And whenever I hear those words, I can’t help but think of a boy looking for the love of his life and swearing he’ll find her no matter what it takes.

2. “What if I Shine” by Barbie in Rock ‘N Royals
The newest Barbie movie will definitely have a place on my seven-year-old’s playlist and I will always find myself singing (and loving) the songs. One of those is “What if I Shine,” the words are perfect for Anita in the story “Watching, Waiting.”

I spend too much time thinking about who I’m supposed to be
I play by everybody’s rules that don’t seem right to me
I’m cool and polite, on the outside
When I get a chance, I run and I hide
If your eyes are closed, it’s hard to see
What if I back down now, ’cause I’m afraid of what might happen
What if they turn away when I show them who I truly am
What if I lose my breath when I throw those big doors open
Or tonight, just tonight
What if I shine?

3. “Count Me In” by Dove Cameron from Liv and Maddie
This Disney Channel show is about twin high school girls, one a celebrity and the other the captain of the basketball team. My daughter discovered it through Spotify. She was listening to the songs from the Descendants movie and Spotify suggested songs from this show. We love the songs so much and now that my daughter has all three seasons, we love the show.

This song is perfect for Carla and Jacob. As the saying goes, opposites attract. But I think what makes that kind of relationship meaningful is just how well you fit together and complement each other.

If I’m the sun then you’re the moon
If you’re the words then I’m the tune
Yeah
If you’re the heart then I’m the beat
Somehow together we’re complete

4. “When You Wish Upon A Star” by Hi-5
The wish to find love, to find happiness, and to find yourself is really what my stories are meant to fulfill and this song captures that so well.

When you wish upon a star,
wondering dream
make a wish be anything
and when you wish upon a star,
wondering dream
make a wish be anything you want to be
When you wish,
when you wish,
when you wish,
when you wish upon a star

5. “Anything” by Sofia the First
Princess Sofia sang this song when she wasn’t allowed to join the Flying Derby because only boys did. But of course with determination and lots of practice, she not only joins the boys but she wins the derby! I love this song because it’s what I want for my main characters (and my daughters), for them to believe in themselves, in what they can achieve, and in who they can become.

I can be anything.
I can see anything.
You can teach anything.
I can reach anything
I can do anything
So can you
Anything
that you try.
Look and see,
You can be anything.
And I know with you by my side.
It’ll be a better ride.
Together we can be each other’s guide.
With a friend to see me through,
There’s nothing I can’t do.
Gonna spread my wings
And soar into the blue.

This writing playlist is soooo cute! ❤ I love that Ms. Ines picked a song from a Barbie movie– I love songs from Barbie movies!

This writing playlist sure looked great, and perfect for writing sweet scenes that will bring the feels. 🙂

Thank you, Ms. Ines!

Signature II

One thought on “[Blog Tour] Just a Little Bit of Love by Ines Bautista-Yao

What do you think?

