Firewalker by Josephine Angelini


FirewalkerFirewalker by Josephine Angelini

Publication Date: September 1, 2015 by Feiwel and Friends

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

[Special thanks to the publisher and Edelweiss for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Worlds divide, magic slays, and love lies in the second book of Josephine Angelini’s The Worldwalker Trilogy.

“You think I’m a monster, but my choices, as ruthless as they seem, are justified.”

Lily is back in her own universe, and she’s ready to start a new life with Rowan by her side. True, she almost died in the Pyre that fueled their escape from New Salem, and must hide her magic for the safety of everyone she cares about, but compared to fighting the Woven, the monstrous creatures inhabiting the alternate Salem, life is looking pretty good.

Unfortunately, Lillian, ruthless ruler of the 13 Cities, is not willing to let Lily go that easily. If she can’t persuade Lily to return to her world, she will force her to come back by doing away with the ones she loves.

Picking up right where Trial By Fire left off, Firewalker is another sexy, fast-paced, heartbreaking thrill ride from internationally bestselling author Josephine Angelini!


My thoughts:

One thing that I really love about this series is the idea of parallel universes–the idea that what’s impossible in one world may be possible in another. The idea of different worlds that are actually the same. It’s a complex idea, actually, but I like understanding it as I read more.

In my notes, I wrote something that goes like this: “Don’t judge a story by its prologue.”

Because Firewalker expanded the world that Trial by Fire introduced, conflicts in parallel worlds appeared. Lily’s story is more complicated than it looks like, and Lillian…

…Lillian is one character that I judged so quickly.

If you hated Lillian in Trial by Fire like I did, you’ll change your mind after knowing what really happened to her and why she hid it from Rowan. I don’t want to spoil you guys, you have to experience the feels that the revelations bring.

When I reached the second quarter, the tension started. Firewalker addressed some social issues, and a character died.

My most favorite quarter is the third quarter, where my favorite quotes are found. I think I can describe the third quarter as the kill a few, save a lot part.

The fourth quarter served as the teaser for the third book. It raised a lot of questions from me, especially with the Woven. Lily saw something in them – something that everyone else overlooked because everyone else was focused on killing them. I expect to understand what’s with the Woven in the third book.

What makes me sad about this book is the falling apart of Rowan and Lily. Rowan didn’t let Lily explain. Rowan chose to believe that Lily sided with Lillian. But I wish Lily just told him. If his core is as strong as a diamond (like how Lily and Lillian described it), he should be able to understand. The truth will break him, but he’ll be able to accept it in time.

I still had some issues with the chapter length, and that’s why it took me a while to finish reading the book.

Firewalker is an action-packed sequel that left me in wonder. 2016, come to me, please. ❤

Feels Review


Quote love! ❤

A half truth could be more manipulative than any lie.

True. There are many ways to tell the truth, and once you learn how to manipulate the truth, you can hide it without actually lying.

Lily wondered if that’s what real love was–understanding someone so deeply you were able to feel their own confusion about who they were and what they really wanted.

YES. I like this quote. ❤

Lily realized that the problem with loving someone more than she loved herself was that when she hurt him, she was the one who was hurt the most.

True–when we love people, their feelings affect us more than we think.

Ready or not, it was forever for me from the first time I saw her.

-Rowan

ROWAAAAN. ❤

This is just…

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Good people die with a smile, allowing their world to disintegrate around them, just so they can protect their precious understanding of themselves. But I will not allow myself to die in this barn just so I can have a hero’s ending. I will give up myself in order to save my world–to save Rowan’s world.

-Lillian

This is Lillian living up to the tagline of Trial by Fire: “I know what I must do, even if it makes me the villain of my own story.”

Lillian’s thoughts give me a wider paradigm, another way to look at the current situation. She thinks differently, and I love that.

Favorite quote:

Love is willing to become the villain so that the one you love can stay a hero.

-Lillian

Hands down. This quote is the epitome of a great sacrifice for love. ‘Nuff said.


Initial Rating: 4.4375/5

Bonuses: 0.625

Demerits: 0.125


Final Rating: 4.94/5

Every choice comes with a story. Signature II

One thought on “Firewalker by Josephine Angelini

What do you think?

