The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi


The Night We Said YesThe Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

Publication Date: June 16, 2015 by Harper Teen

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher and Edelweiss for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.


My thoughts:

There were so many lines and quotes that I could relate to. I like the pacing, and how Lauren connected Then and Now.

I read the book in one sitting–which is very rare. I guess that means reading the book was an adventure that I really enjoyed. Saying YES to everything on that night a year ago and the same night a year later felt like saying yes was inevitable. Like, you wouldn’t have an awesome life if you don’t say yes.

It’s true–I mean, with the greatest adventures comes the most daunting risks, and saying yes is being brave.

I badly want to share quotes, but I don’t have a finished copy yet, so the quotes have to wait.

I love how the book didn’t focus on Matt and Ella. Meg and Jake were equally awesome, and the four of them make a daring group. But while the book is an adventure, it was also a cave. The depth kicked in at the second quarter, when the reason for Matt’s disappearance was revealed. It was very tough, and I understood where Ella is coming from, why she’s mad. I would feel the same way if I were her. It’s just, Matt just did what he thought was best for the situation. Sometimes our heart is wrong, but we have to follow it anyway. That’s how we learn.

The Night We Said Yes tells us that the biggest regrets come from not taking the greatest risks. Saying yes opens the door for countless possibilities. Give fate a chance, it’ll lead the way.

Feels Review


Initial Rating: 4.375/5

Bonuses: 0.5

Demerits: None


Final Rating: 4.88/5

Say no to not saying yes.

Signature II

Giveaway! ❤

Win my ARC of The Night We Said Yes!

22 thoughts on “The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

  1. I haven’t read this one yet though I’ve seen mixed reviews about it haha 🙂 Looking forward to reading this one (especially after your review!) Thanks for the chance, dear!

    -Ailla

  2. Second comment for this post! i like the fact that you were able to show how you feel about the book without giving away much details (oh! i really hate spoilers!) and anyway, i DO want to give this a try. 🙂 Anyway, who’s the lucky one who got the prev. giveaway?

  3. Looking forward to read this book! 🙂 The title and cover itself is catchy and your review are good so I hope I could get it!! Thank you so much! 🙂

    -Innah Jane

  4. This book reminded me of How to Love by Katie Cotugno, but every book has its own story so it’s really interesting for a debut novel ❤

  5. Omg! I really want to have a copy of this book! Do people really deserve second chance? Oh I want to know what happened to Matt, and why he left Ella? I love this: “Saying yes opens the door for countless possibilities. Give fate a chance, it’ll lead the way.” Indeed, you just have to be brave because who knows? If things are meant to be, if you really are meant to be for each other, if you really are meant for something, no matter what happens you will find your way there. 🙂 Thanks for the chance, by the way! 🙂

  6. This kind of plot is really engaging! I know I can relate to “Someone got a way” part. I really want to read it T.T If ever someone will walk back to me asking for forgiveness/chance, I really don’t know what to say/act. So I guess Ella can help me 🙂
    -Mary Rose Benipayo

What do you think?

