[Blog Tour] Bounce by Noelle August


BounceBounce by Noelle August

Publication Date: August 25, 2015 by William Morrow Paperbacks

Genre: New Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher and Edelweiss for the review copy!]

[Much love to Lorin Oberweger for the physical ARC!]

Goodreads Summary:

Following in the bestselling tradition of Molly McAdams and J. Lynn, this final chapter in the fun and steamy New Adult trilogy by Noelle August (authors Veronica Rossi and Lorin Oberweger) features two aspiring musicians who must choose between their careers…and their sizzling attraction for each other.

Playing the occasional club gig just isn’t cutting it for twenty-two-year-old cellist Skyler Canby, who’s trying to support herself and her mother back home in Kentucky. Persuaded by her best friend Beth to accompany her on an audition for the first feature film launched by Blackwood Entertainment, she figures why not? Beth’s a shoe-in for the lead, but maybe Skyler’s newly dyed pink hair will help her stand out enough to score a small speaking part.

Never in her wildest dreams does Skyler imagine she’ll land the lead role or that she’ll have her shoes knocked off her feet by the kiss her audition partner, Grey Blackwood, plants on her—a kiss that feels very real and not at all “acted. ”

After throwing a party that causes thousands of dollars of damage to his older brother’s home, reckless musician Grey Blackwood gets roped into working off his debt on the set of his CEO brother’s newest project. Grey spends his days fetching coffee and doing odd jobs around the studio, but he lives for nights when he performs with his band. He knows if he can stay focused, success as a singer is just around the corner. But that’s tough with a distracting pink-haired girl occupying his every waking thought.

Skyler and Grey have every reason to resist each other. But, like a song neither of them can get out of their minds, they have no choice but to go where the music takes them.


I would like to apologize for not posting this on the 29th–we lost power in our area and I couldn’t continue writing this review. To Jessica and Rachel of Bookslapped, to Megan, and to my dear bookish friends who were looking forward to this review, I’m very sorry.

My thoughts:

Right after seeing the cover of Bounce, I had this feeling that it’ll be my favorite.

I was right–Bounce is indeed, my favorite in the Boomerang series.

I enjoy reading New Adult books once in a while, (and I mostly read NA by Mina V. Esguerra and Noelle August) but my heart belongs to YA. And maybe that’s the very reason Bounce became my favorite in the series. The cover is YA-ish (super adorbs!) and Grey is just 19.

I REPEAT. GREY IS JUST 19. He could pass for a YA book boyfriend if we put him in another book. But he at the moment, he belongs to Bounce, and to Skyler–which totally makes me so jelly. I imagine Grey singing and swoon for him over again.

Skyler and Grey share their love for music, and their passion made them perfect for one another.

I love how V and Lorin wrote three intertwined stories. Usually, in a series, the books follow the story of the main characters in the first book. But the Boomerang series is the kind where each book has a different story, but the stories are all connected.

It starts with Mia and Ethan, who worked for Adam. Alison is Ethan’s ex, Grey is Adam’s brother, and Skyler is Mia’s best friend.

But sorry, Mia and Ethan. Sorry, Alison and Adam, but Skyler and Grey are the best. ❤

The first chapters made me giggle. Auditions for a Jane Austen book-to-movie adaptation? YES PLEASE! I call Skyler and Grey’s story love at first kiss. (And it didn’t feel like insta-love, at all!)

Bounce was similar to Famous in Love in some ways, especially because both books took me behind the cameras and gave me a glimpse of what it’s like to be a movie star. Tight schedules, strict diets…the money that actors and actresses earn is really hard-earned. And a very interesting love triangle-ish that gave me shots of adrenaline. ❤

Bounce was also deep, in the sense that both Grey and Skyler had family issues that were slowly revealed as the story progressed. I love how Grey’s  family problems got fixed. Adam is a responsible brother and he really loves Grey, even if they didn’t have the same mother.

I read the book in a day. With my super hectic schedule, that reading pace is rare–and I’m glad I recovered from my reading slump! I really enjoyed reading Bounce.

Bounce is a story of two people brought together by music–and fate. It’s almost as magical as a fairytale.

Feels Review


Initial Rating: 4.75/5

Bonuses: 0.875

Demerits: None


Final Rating: 5.63/5

When love meets music, we have magic.

Signature II

4 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] Bounce by Noelle August

  1. I don’t really read much NA (except Mina Esguerra’s!) but your review makes me wanna try out this series. I didn’t think Boomerang (the first book, I think?) was for me at first (it screamed too much NA for me, despite having a cutesy cover) but now, I might consider especially ’cause of your rating! And yes, Love + Music = magic ❤

    -Ailla

  2. I haven’t read the series because it didn’t really catch my interest but Bounce might be an exception, lovely review xo 🙂

What do you think?

