Signs Point to Yes by Sandy Hall


Signs Point to YesSigns Point to Yes by Sandy Hall

Publication Date: October 20, 2015 by Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

The author of A Little Something Different brings you the most adorkable romance ever.

Jane, a superstitious fangirl, takes an anonymous babysitting job to avoid an unpaid internship with her college-obsessed mom. The only problem? She’s babysitting the siblings of her childhood friend and new crush, Teo.

Teo doesn’t dislike Jane, but his best friend Ravi hates her, and is determined to keep them apart. So Teo’s pretty sure his plans for a peaceful summer are shot. His only hope is that his intermittent search for his birth father will finally pan out and he’ll find a new, less awkward home. Meanwhile, at Jane’s house, her sister Margo wants to come out as bisexual, but she’s terrified of how her parents will react.

In a summer filled with secrets and questions, even Jane’s Magic 8 ball can’t give them clear answers, but Signs Point to Yes.


 My thoughts:

Signs Point to Yes is awkward in a VERY cute way. I wouldn’t call it slow, it was more of taking it easy. All the blushing and almost-kisses were adorable!

The conflicts were introduced right away, along with a diverse character that I liked.

Teo is a guy that girls swoon over, myself included, and Jane is weird in a professional way (a.k.a. a true fangirl!)–together they make a perfect team for a cute awkward story.

It wasn’t all awkward, and I like that as I read, the story had more meaning. Jane and Teo both have family issues and I was taken on a busy elevator ride as I read the ups and downs of their lives smoothly written and shown on the scenes.

This book had a Paper Towns vibe–and I loved it. Friends on a road trip to bring someone back find themselves more connected than ever.

I can’t share quotes right now because my copy is an ARC, but I would like to talk about some things that Jane said. Although I can’t really mention what they are, I believe I can say that they were about her choices in life.

I love that Jane stood firm in her decisions, despite what other people think. To me, that’s brave. Because standing up for something that the world seems to disagree on is a tough choice. And I admire Jane for that.

Another thing that I liked very much was the fandom stuff in the book. Jane has a fandom friend in another state and the friend offered to help them. I smiled when I read that part because I do believe that fandom friends are real friends. They’re technically family. ❤

That last question + that last line = ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Signs Point to Yes is a book about choices. It tells us that even Magic 8 balls can’t know for sure what life would bring. Whether it’s as big as pursuing college or as small as what to wear for a date, every choice we make affect how our lives will turn out. Jane and Teo made choices that led to them ending up together, and isn’t that the most amazing thing? Finding yourself in the right place, at the right time, with the right person after everything that didn’t happen as planned?

Question: Should you pick up this book when it hits shelves in October?

Answer: Signs Point to Yes. ❤

Feels Review


Initial Rating: 4.4375/5

Bonuses: 0.625

Demerits: None


Final Rating: 5.1/5

Whatever the signs say, follow your heart.

Signature II

18 thoughts on “Signs Point to Yes by Sandy Hall

  1. Ah this book sounds so cute!! I have yet to read A Little Something Different and now I’m adding this to my tbr as well! I like that you mentioned that it’s awkward in a cute way — I love reading about scenes like that ❤ ❤

  2. oh my geez yes! All the signs = YES. I want to read this so so so baaaadlyyy! I’m really glad you liked it Fay! Awesomesauce review! ❤

    -Ailla

      1. yes I saw! One of the reasons why I want to win so badly hahaha! Thanks for the chance, Fay! Keeping my fingers crossed!

  3. This made me want to read the book. Plus the “This book had a Paper Towns vibe–and I loved it.” sentence is all I need. Will definitely wait for the release. Thanks for an awesome review! ❤

What do you think?

