Public Enemies by Ann Aguirre


Public EnemiesPublic Enemies by Ann Aguirre

Publication Date: August 4, 2015 by Feiwel and Friends

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

In Book 2 of the Immortal Game trilogy, Edie must learn the rules of the game . . . and then play better than anyone else.

Through a Faustian bargain, Edie Kramer has been pulled into the dangerous world of the Immortal Game, where belief makes your nightmares real. Hungry for sport, fears-made-flesh are always raising the stakes. To them, human lives are less than nothing, just pieces on a board.

Because of her boyfriend Kian’s sacrifice, she’s operating under the mysterious Harbinger’s aegis, but his patronage could prove as fatal as the opposition. Raw from deepest loss, she’s terrified over the deal Kian made for her. Though her very public enemies keep sending foot soldiers–mercenary monsters committed to her destruction–she’s not the one playing under a doom clock. Kian has six months…unless Edie can save him. And this is a game she can’t bear to lose.


I DIDN’T EXPECT TO BE THIS HURT.

I DIDN’T EXPECT TO BE THIS BROKEN.

I DIDN’T EXPECT THIS BOOK WOULD

MAKE ME CRY LIKE THIS

AND TEAR MY HEART
INTO PIECES.

When I share a quote in my book reviews or in social media, sometimes I include comments like, This is making me cry–or something similar.

But those comments just mean that I’m on the verge of crying. That I almost cried. Maybe my eyes got a bit watery, or my heart twitched a little, but tears did not fall.

You’ll know the tears are real when I give a book at least one infinity symbol. Because I only give infinity symbols to books that made me cry.

Summer of Yesterday got one.

Extraordinary Means got one.

Me Before You got two.

Allegiant was the first book that made me cry. While reading it, tears fell. But I read it in 2013, and I didn’t have a book blog back then, so I didn’t rate the book. I just talked about it. (Blog post is spoilery!)

The Fault in Our Stars made me cry, too, but only after reading the book. More like an aftershock of an earthquake. I also talked about it in my personal blog, just like Allegiant. If I’d give them ratings, Allegiant would get two infinity symbols and TFIOS would get one. (But I ugly-cried on the TFIOS movie because seeing everything on the big screen made everything more painful–I must prepare for Allegiant because…OKAY. NO SPOILERS!)

So if we consider the birth date of this blog as a starting point, Summer of Yesterday is the first book that made it to the list of the most special books to me. The rest would follow.

You might be thinking, is Public Enemies really that good? As good as Me Before You, and Allegiant?

I didn’t think it would make it to the list of the most special books to me, because I thought it’ll just receive a very high rating, like what happened with Mortal Danger.

86% of the book just made me smile, laugh, excited, nervous…ALL THE FEELS. But the last line of page 321

KILLED ME.

Reading that last line is like reading Chapter 52 of Allegiant. I never saw it coming. That’s what made it SO PAINFUL.

Before I spoil anyone here, let me just talk about the 86%–to calm myself down and forget about page 321 for a while.

At first I got a bit overwhelmed with the creatures that appear every now and then, but I got the hang of it. Gradually, I understood why things happen, and I slowly formed the big picture.

I like Edie trying her best to be strong both for her dad and for Kian. She turned from fragile to badass. Her strength is admirable.

I also like the complexity of one character, the Harbinger, whom I didn’t understand at first, but eventually learned not to hate.

Edie had to pass a test to prove she’s worth of having a powerful weapon, and I suddenly thought of the simulations in Divergent. They were similar in some ways, and I can’t help but see the connection. Tris turned from fragile to badass, too.

I want to talk about the quotes, but I don’t think I can handle it right now.

Maybe some other time, when I’ve recovered from the mess I’ve become after page 321.

I’d do anything to read Infinite Risk right now.

Below is my FEELS REVIEW, the one I recorded right after reading the book.

I started talking at around 3:30 p.m. and ended at 3:35. No second takes.

This is me. This is how I’d sound like if my reviews have audio.

Imagine someone asking me how I feel about Public Enemies right after reading it. This would be my answer.

Sorry for the awkward English and some grammatical errors plus the mispronounced words. That’s what a book hangover does. I am not myself today. I can’t believe I have to wait another year to know what happens next.

Seriously, Ms. Ann Aguirre, if it weren’t for the line before the Author’s Note, I won’t know what to do with my life anymore. Because the line before the Author’s Note gave me hope. I will hold on to that.

TWO INFINITY SYMBOLS FOR PUBLIC ENEMIES. ∞ 

Signature II

6 thoughts on “Public Enemies by Ann Aguirre

What do you think?

