[Event Recap] Bookworms Unite!


Last July 26 was the best bookish day that I’ve ever had. My sister (Erin from Celestial Pages) came with me and we attended the meet-up for bloggers and readers, a.k.a. #BookwormsUnite.

We arrived at around 2 p.m.ย and joined (more like watched?) the cover guessing game. I was able to recognize some covers but I couldn’t remember who wrote the books. The most memorable moment of that game was when the cover of Another Day by David Levithan was flashed.

There’s also this game called Playing Eros. In 60 seconds, you have to find three OTPs by flipping over pieces of paper with character names written on them. I was able to do it but I didn’t win a prize because I got : ) instead of Bookworm. Strips of paper were rolled and you have to pick one from the box (ish) to determine your fate. : ) means no prize. Erin also won–but suffered the same fate.

We also tried the Word Soup. At least we tried.

The Human Bingo was so fun! We got to know each other more because of that super awesome activity. ๐Ÿ™‚

Afterwards, prizes were given to the teams for the cover guessing game. I got an ARC of Hotel Ruby by Suzanne Young.

For the raffle,. each of us will get a book, but our names will be picked from the box (ish) to know who gets to choose first.

I got to choose first and I chose to get the ARC ofย The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi. It’s my first Harper ARC. ๐Ÿ™‚

Then the book blind date came. My eyes were glued to books brought by Ate Dianne because I feel I’m going to love them. I got The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith and When the World Was Flat (and we were in love) by Ingrid Jonach.

The day was so special because it’s my first time to attend an event like that. I’m so glad I met everyone–even if Ate Raye and Kuya Miel weren’t able to write on my notebook. I know there’s always next time, and I’m looking forward to the next meet-up!

Another thing that made the day special is the reunion of two friends who fell apart. If you don’t know what I mean, sorry but you have to find out for yourself. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thank you so much, Ate Dianne, Ate Inah, Kuya Miel, Ate Faye, and Ate Hazel for organizing the event! Also a huge thanks to Harper Collins, Simon Teen, and National Book Store for being so generous and making us smile with the books you sponsored for the event! โค

And of course, a shoutout to Book and Borders Cafe–for being the perfect place for a bookish event! โค

Bookworms Unite! (83)

PHOTOSย ARE UPLOADED HERE.

Event Attendees

(IN ORDER OF WHEN THEIR FACES APPEARED ON MY CAMERA ROLL)

Ate Raye–I’d like to thank whoever thought of her nickname because her name is Raisa Faye. She’sย my schoolmate, and she’s also a member of the Iglesia Ni Cristo. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ate Salve–I’ll forever remember her as the responsible book parent–for keeping her books safe when she travels. #TheSeatbelt

Raffy–He’s supposed to be the youngest attendee, if Erin didn’t come with me. Raffy’s 15 years old. Erin is 13. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Kuya JM–Signature pose FTW!

Kim–The lucky winner! ๐Ÿ˜€

Ate Pau–Her name really made its mark. I know her as Ramonne Paula. Always joining my ย giveaways. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ate Hazel–Blog design FTW. And the bookmarks/business cards! ๐Ÿ™‚

Ate Jayvee + Ate Mermaid (Eriele) + Ate Alia–The Trio. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ate Nina–The first person in the event who asked about my writing. โค

Kuya Miel–Fellow Kapampangan! But seriously, if I didn’t know you’re 22, I would have dropped the Kuya. You look 19 to me. 20 at most, haha.

Ate Dianne–Much, much, love! I join her blog tours and she organized the tour for #buqoYA! โค

Justine–The RK? (I don’t know, he really looks like a rich kid. Reserved and formal.) I love his bookstagram!

Ate Precious + Ate Maricar–The Duo. I always see them together. ๐Ÿ™‚ Bookish BFFs FTW! ๐Ÿ™‚

Shanelle–I love her handwriting! She’s the only one I haven’t met online, and I’m glad to have met her during the event! ๐Ÿ˜€

Rafael–The latecomer, haha. But that doesn’t make him less awesome.

Godwin–Ate Eriele’s love team (KIDDING!)–People assume his name is Demigod.

Jem–ME BEFORE YOU FEEEELS!!! โค (But you’re supposed to be Ate Jem!)

Ate Faye–My twin-ish. Now you guys know there’s a Fay without the e and Faye with the e. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Ate Inah–I super love her smile! She always smiles with her eyes! ๐Ÿ˜€

These wonderful people reminded me of why I blog: for the love of books! You guys are all special to me now, the first #BookwormsUnite will be remembered. โค

Signature II

15 thoughts on “[Event Recap] Bookworms Unite!

  1. Great recap, Fay! Ahh, it was really nice to meet you! We should talk more next time ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. You can just drop the “kuya.” ๐Ÿ™‚ And oh. Justine looks like a rich kid because he IS a rich kid. Also, The Trio wanted to ACTUALLY FINISH the Word Soup! Omg. And yeah, I actually called you Fay without “e” at one point, right? And Faye, Faye with “e.” So glad to have met you Fay and happier still you had so much fun!

  3. I wanted to go join you guys but unfortunately, I already had important plans for that day ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Nevertheless, glad you had fun Fay! Hopefully I can come the next time? I look forward to meeting you all! โค

    -Ailla

What do you think?

