[Blog Tour] How To Say I Love You Out Loud by Karole Cozzo


HTSILYOL Blog Tour BannerHow to Say I Love You Out LoudHow To Say I Love You Out Loud by Karole Cozzo

Publication Date: August 4, 2015 by Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Summary:

Words are strong. Love is stronger.

When Jordyn Michaelson’s autistic brother joins her at her elite school, she’s determined not to let anyone know they’re related. Even if that means closing herself off to all her closest friends, including charming football stud Alex Colby. But despite her best intentions, she just can’t shake the memory of kissing Alex last summer, and the desire to do it again.

Can Jordyn find the courage to tell Alex how she really feels—and the truth about her family—before he slips away forever?


My thoughts:

I am so honored to be a part of the official blog tour for Karole Cozzo’s How to Say I Love You Out Loud–I’m really excited for the book and I hope you’re excited, too–because I love this one.

How to Say I Love You Out Loud is the kind of book my mom would read. Mom loves stories about families, the kind where you learn a lot. And because this book features Jordyn’s autistic brother, Phillip, I can say that this book promotes diversity, making it a part of my blog event, and my favorite read this month.

Personally, I think this book is more Jordyn x Phillip than Jordyn x Alex.  I felt that the romance is just a side story, because even the title, although also applicable for Alex, is meant for Phillip. I had similar feels with Cynthia Hand’s The Last Time We Say Goodbye. My heart broke when I read the part where Jordyn says that her brother doesn’t recognize her at school, because the Jordyn that Phillip knows is at home.

The story gave me a glimpse of what it’s like to live with autistic people. The challenges are not easy to overcome, but once you see a little achievement, no matter how small it is to other people, your heart is filled with joy, because you feel that your efforts did not go to waste.

I love how Jordyn and Alex met. They were volunteering for a cause. Isn’t it the most amazing thing when you meet the love of your life while doing what you love? ❤

There were swoonworthy scenes that gave me FEELS. And the part when Alex and Jordyn shared how they felt since they first met? SO MUCH LOVE! ❤ ❤ ❤

Karole was able to tell two stories and weave them to meet at a common point: love.

But what I love the most about this book is the experience that Karole shared. She is a school psychologist, and the stories from her encounters inspired this book. That is very heartwarming.

How to Say I Love You Out Loud is a book of acceptance, bravery, and most of all, love. It’s a book that will touch everyone’s hearts. No more computations for the rating. I’ll give this book 5 stars. ❤

LEARN MORE ABOUT HOW TO SAY I LOVE YOU OUT LOUD ON SWOON READS! YOU CAN ALSO CHECK OUT OTHER CHOSEN TITLES AND UPCOMING BOOK NEWS! ❤

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR:

Monday, July 27
Bibliophile Soprano
https://bibliophilesoprano.wordpress.com/
Tuesday, July 28
Book Sense 
https://booksenses.wordpress.com/
Wednesday, July 29
Jasmine Pearl Reads
https://jasminepearlreads.wordpress.com/
Thursday, July 30
Books and Iced Coffee
http://booksandicedcoffee.com/
Friday, July 31
Confessions of a Bookaholic
http://www.confessionsofabookaholic.com/
Monday, August 3
Endlessly Reading 
https://endlesslyreading99.wordpress.com/
Tuesday, August 4
Happy Book Lovers
http://www.happybookloversblog.com/
Wednesday, August 5
Gone with the Words
http://gonewiththewords.com/
Thursday, August 6
Fiction Fare
http://www.fictionfare.com/
Friday, August 7
Her Book Thoughts
http://herbookthoughts.reads-it.com/
Saturday, August 8
Such a Novel Idea
http://suchanovelidea.com/
Sunday, August 9
Book Briefs
http://bookbriefs.net/
Monday, August 10
A Leisure Moment
http://www.aleisuremoment.com/
Tuesday, August 11
Once Upon a Twilight
http://www.onceuponatwilight.com/
Wednesday, August 12
Fictitious Delicious
http://www.fictitiousdelicious.com/
Thursday, August 13
Mundie Moms
http://www.mundiemoms.com/
Friday, August 14
Me, My Shelf and I

Quote love! ❤

But how can you miss someone you never really had?

-Jordyn

Ouch. Straight to the heart.

Fair doesn’t mean equal. Fair means everyone gets what they need.

-Jordyn

Truth.

PREACH. ❤

Teenage guys are not supposed to be concerned like this. They are supposed to tell fart jokes…and not really pay attention when something is bothering a friend. It’s really, really difficult when they convince you they can be something else entirely–a human being, one who truly cares, especially when they’re less yours and more someone else’s.

-Jordyn

This is Jordyn being a bit judgmental, but I don’t think that’s really her point. Her point is that she found someone like no other but she can’t have him because he’s taken. Thoughts?

I decided if I was interested in falling in love, I would like to be in love with someone like Alex Colby.

See? This is what I’m talking about. 😉

There is a lens in which we view every single person in this world. With every piece of information we gain about them, the lens is adjusted, ever so slightly, blurring..coloring…changing how we see them.

-Jordyn

I can totally relate to this because I think like this. But I always try to accept the truth about the people I love.

I can hardly let the fear of my expectations falling short, the idea of people letting me down, dictate how we live around here.

-Jordyn’s Mom

Words of wisdom to keep in mind. 🙂

It’s no fun watching someone hurting, even if she’s not the nicest person in the world.

-Jordyn

This is why I usually cry when a character cries in a movie. Because I feel their pain.

Sometimes I don’t really get you, you know that? Most people try to make themselves look better on the outside than they really are on the inside. People like Leighton. Then there’s you. It’s like the other way around, like you don’t want people to notice what’s special about you. You pull away every time they try to.

-Alex

This made Jordyn speechless. So Alex kept talking.

You remember getting noticed in the wrong way more than you remember getting noticed in the right way, you start just wanting to blend in. You start not wanting to be noticed at all.

-Alex

Jordyn still speechless. Alex kept talking.

I noticed how our hands fit together the one time you let me touvh you. I noticed that you seemed lonely, really, really lonely, even though I didn’t know why. Which is the most ridiculous thing in the world, considering how badly someone wants to spend time with you. Every single day.

-Alex

There. My heart melted right there. That’s how you melt a girl’s heart. ‘Love you, Alex. ❤

Why does loving someone always have to hurt?

The risk just seems bigger than the reward.

-Jordyn

I don’t have to be lectured about this because I already know, a long time ago, that love always comes with pain. But one day, the tears will all be worth it.

I’m not here to win, I’m here to speak.

-Jordyn

Remembering why you’re doing something is really important. Because when you forget your purpose, you mess things up.

Favorite quote:

It’s really hard to say the words I love you when you know you’ll likely never hear them back.

-Jordyn

THIS. ‘Nuff said.

SUPER RELATABLE. ALL THE FEELS.


Final Rating: 5/5

Be brave enough to speak up. You never know who’s listening.

Signature IIGiveaway! ❤

Win an ARC of How to Say I Love You Out Loud!

A LITTLE NOTE: BLOG TOUR PARTICIPANTS HAVE THE CHANCE TO GIVE AWAY A FINISHED COPY TO US RESIDENTS. I REQUESTED AN EXTRA ARC FOR A PH ONLY GIVEAWAY – SO I DON’T HAVE A US GIVEAWAY FOR THIS ONE ANYMORE. NO WORRIES, US PEEPS! YOU HAVE LOTS OF CHANCES ON THE NEXT TOUR STOPS! AND YAY FOR PH RESIDENTS – YOU HAVE A CHANCE TO WIN AN ARC! ❤

24 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] How To Say I Love You Out Loud by Karole Cozzo

  1. Ooh!!! Swoon Reads are always, well, SWOONY. And they’re must have’s! I so love the quotes you shared!! 😀 Thanks for the giveaway!

    -Ailla

  2. My read and tbr pile are mostly scifi/fantasy/YA/romance and not much about family/love so reading this review made me want to read it and read books more about autism and something similar to it. I like diversity so I think this’ll be a great ride. 😉

  3. I wanna read it. I’ve been recently reading books more about medical conditions and I find them interesting. Maybe because I am an aspiring doctor and at least I am not just reading books about romance but I’m also learning from them. So looking forward to read this!!

  4. Heyyyyyy! i’ve totally relate to this line, too. “It’s no fun watching someone hurting, even if she’s not the nicest person in the world.” it cuts right through me when I see someone crying.

  5. This story makes me misses my brothers more. OMG I think I gonna cry when I read this book. 😦 Thank you for your wonderful review Fay! I will definitely look for this novel. 🙂

What do you think?

