Blogger Interview: Jayvee from Writer for Misfits


Jayvee De Castro - White Background

I met Ate Jayvee because of Ate Eriele. They’re bookish BFFs, like Ate Alexa and Ate Rachel. All of them are so adorable on Twitter! #FriendshipGoals

Ate Jayvee is here for an interview! I’m glad she took time to share things about herself and to tell us her thoughts about blogging and book discrimination. 🙂


The Interview II

PERSONAL QUESTIONS

What is your full name?

Jenivieve De Castro

When is your birthday?

November 27, 1993

How old are you?

21 years old

Favorite food?

Anything sweet, really. 🙂

Favorite color?

Green

Favorite flower?

Peonies (even though we don’t exactly have peonies here in the Philippines..or I’m just not looking lol)

FUN FACT: DID YOU KNOW THAT VERONICA ROSSI LOVES PEONIES? ❤

Favorite song?

This is hard. I love all the songs I listen to.

Favorite TV show?

Currently, my favorite TV show is Suits, coz lawyer drama is soooo engaging!

Favorite place to read and/or blog?

Home. It feels comfortable to read and blog at home.

Favorite book?

The Harry Potter series, but The Prisoner of Azkaban is my fave book in the series.

ON BLOGGING

Who are you when you’re blogging?

I feel so much more comfortable about being a misfit and being awkward and talking about books. I feel like a much more relatable person when I blog.

Who are you when you’re not blogging?

I think I’m pretty much the same, except I am far more reserved when I’m not blogging.

Which do you prefer more?

Of course when I’m blogging! It’s so much fun ahhhhh! ❤

What drives you to blog more?

When people say they love the stuff I blog about, especially my features!

How do you see yourself in the blogosphere?

I still see myself as a small, irrelevant person when it comes to blogging but I’m really happy that I am somehow gaining an audience of sorts, so it feels lovely and great!

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to your blog?

I dunno. I wouldn’t say I’m too hung up with making my blog perfect, but I do want it to look pretty. Content however, is my biggest concern, yet I just let it work for itself at times, if you guys know what I mean.

Do you like making outlines when you blog, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

I don’t outline and it’s a bad habit of mine. But it seems to work for me most of the time. I just let my thoughts go free, and then edit afterwards.

How much do your followers mean to you?

They mean the entire world because they are super supportive and kind and are just the sweetest bunch of people ever. UGH!

What is the best blogging advice that you could share with us?

Don’t sweat it. Blog because you want to blog and because it makes you happy. That is what matters most.

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

It’s the shunning of a book because of its unusual content, themes that are difficult to understand or because there is a dislike over the author.

How do you feel about it?

It feels weird, coz why aren’t people understanding enough that there are issues different from the usual? I think books that tackle a different theme, or a theme not usually touched and tackled, should be the ones who are talked about, and in a good way.

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

People who are too judgmental about a certain book. I think that holds influential to others who get to see that discrimination.

What would you do against it?

Tackle more books about it, and be more open towards new concepts and ideas. I think that’s what we all need to do.

Fill in the blanks. More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff because it’s so freakin’ epic! I think people are too scared or held back about the mix of steampunk and the Japanese government because it seems out of place or unusual, but really, more people should read it. Just because it’s long or a bit out of place, doesn’t mean it’s not good or relevant.


VISIT JAYVEE’S BLOG HERE.

Signature II

One thought on “Blogger Interview: Jayvee from Writer for Misfits

What do you think?

