Author Interview: Cheyanne Young


I met Chey because I joined the blog tour for Somewhere Only We Know, hosted by Ate Dianne of Oops! I Read a Book Again. I became friends with Chey on Twitter, and now we have her for an interview!Cheyanne Young - White Background

Cheyanne is a native Texan with a fear of cold weather and a coffee addiction that probably needs an intervention. She loves books, sarcasm, nail polish and paid holidays. She lives near the beach with her family, one spoiled rotten puppy and a cat that is plotting to take over the world, one scratched up welcome mat at a time.

A recent day-job quitter, Cheyanne can be found furiously typing on her computer, probably complaining on Twitter about how she should be writing. When she’s not honing her procrastination skills, she’s writing books for teenagers. She is the author of several books for teens and recently turned her love of superheroes and writing for teens into books about teenage superheroes. POWERED is her first superhero book but it won’t be her last. Because POWERED is a trilogy. Duh.


The Interview II PERSONAL QUESTIONS

What is your full name?

Cheyanne Elizabeth Young

When is your birthday?

November 28th

How old are you?

29 & I refuse to admit it when I turn 30

Favorite food?

Coffee. Is coffee a food? Well I choose coffee.

Favorite color?

Pink

Favorite flower?

Wildflowers

Favorite song?

I don’t really have one! Weird.

Favorite TV show?

The Office, Parks & Rec, New Girl, OITNB, Agents of SHIELD & Merlin

Favorite place to read and/or write?

I will read anywhere and my favorite writing place is on my bike desk.

Favorite book?

Probably Harry Potter. Haven’t grown tired of reading those yet!

ON WRITING

Who are you when you’re writing?

Focused & hyped up on coffee.

Who are you when you’re not writing?

I’m still hyped up on coffee, but significantly less focused and way more fun.

Which do you prefer more?

I love the me that has JUST finished writing a book.

What drives you to write more?

My hyperactive imagination keeps me thinking up stories all day, every day. That’s what drives me.

How often do you experience writer’s block and what do you do to get out of it?

I never get writer’s block.. The closest thing I get is being too sick (headache, cold, etc) & then I just can’t force myself to write.

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to your work?

Depends… for my first drafts I just let all the word vomit appear on the page. Then I fix it up later.. then, I let the editor have her say before I fix it up. So, no, not really. I know it’s a process and it’ll never ever be perfect so all I can do is try.

Do you like making outlines when you write, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

I need a general outline but I usually deviate from it constantly. It’s a struggle to follow an outline but I don’t like working without out.

If you could do both at the same speed, which would you prefer: Writing on paper or typing your words? Why?

Typing, because I’m one of those weirdos who will obsess over messy handwriting and plus, I’ll eventually have to type it up anyhow… so yeah.. typing!

What is the best writing advice that you could share with us?

This is a movie metaphor but it works the same: Don’t compare someone else’s highlight reel with your behind the scenes.

Of all the things that you’ve ever written (poems, essays, short stories, novels, etc.), which one is the most special to you?

The Powered trilogy is my favorite set of characters because they are badass superheroes, but Somewhere Only We Know is my favorite book I’ve written because it was inspired from real life events.

ON HER BOOKS

What inspired the idea of your first book?

Motocross Me is my first book & it was inspired from growing up at the motocross track. They say write what you know, so I wrote what I knew.

What message would you like your readers to learn from that book?

Motocross Me doesn’t necessarily have a message, but my main character does learn how to stick up for herself after being a doormat and that’s always a great lesson.

What inspired the idea of your latest book?

My current WIP is based on a secret club I had in high school with a few friends. We never really did much with the club, but I’ve taken the idea of it and turned it into a novel where the characters WILL do something with the club. 😉

What message would you like your readers to learn from that book?

TRUST NO ONE. Heh, heh!

What is the greatest challenge that you have encountered in the publishing world and how did you overcome it?

The biggest challenge as an indie author is trying to get your books noticed without being a spammer. I’m also generally a quiet person so I’m not a fan of yelling LOOK AT MY BOOK on every online outlet. Luckily bloggers (<3) are incredibly helpful in overcoming this challenge!

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

Book discrimination is a quick judgement of a book based on the cover, the author, the subject matter or how it’s published. It’s deciding you don’t like a book without even reading it.

How do you feel about it?

I think it sucks. Ugly covers don’t mean the book is bad. A topic you’re not interested in also doesn’t make a book bad…it could be the greatest thing you’ve ever read if you only give it a chance. Self-published authors take a lot of pride and invest in making their books as good as traditionally published books. Avoiding a book for this reason is probably the second-worst type of book discrimination (with judging based on cover as number 1)

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

Laziness, for one. Making a quick judgement over a trivial thing is just LAZY. Give books a chance! Also, if a person isn’t really a “reader”, this probably makes them discriminate more than someone who does consider themselves readers. Real readers know to hold back judgement until they’ve given the book a chance.

What would you do against it?

I’d challenge someone to pick up a book they’d previously discriminated against and read it anyway. Chances are, they’ll end up finding many redeeming qualities in the book and realize their discrimination was unfounded.

Fill in the blanks. More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

More people should read books from authors they’ve previously disliked because authors grow with each book and you might be missing out!


Thank you so much for participating, Chey! You’re an awesome friend! So glad to have you here! ❤

Signature II

Giveaway! ❤

Win paperback copies of Motocross Me, Understudy, and Somewhere Only We Know! [US only]

Win signed bookmarks and e-books of Motocross Me, Understudy, and Somewhere Only We Know! [INT]

5 thoughts on “Author Interview: Cheyanne Young

What do you think?

